Author Topic: [Solved] Fluke 87-I Repair help  (Read 5106 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Gluteniz

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: se
[Solved] Fluke 87-I Repair help
« on: March 02, 2016, 04:03:30 pm »
Hi,
Bought a used Fluke 87 first generation it was sold as "Fully tested and working 100%" but that was not the case.

So first find was a blown 15A 600v fuse I replaced it with a new one but there is still something wrong,
the meter is unable to measure capacitance, without anything attached in capacitance mode it shows 00.33nF and testing with a capacitor it only shows 0.L
tested the same capacitor with a Fluke 112 and got a result directly.

Here is someone with the same problem:
http://www.edaboard.com/thread230578.html

My meter also has the "ghost" readings in all AC modes as noted on the above link not sure if this is normal?

Any ideas what could have gone bad?
or what to test?

« Last Edit: March 03, 2016, 01:58:43 am by Gluteniz »
 

Offline giosif

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 402
  • Country: gb
Re: Fluke 87-I Repair help
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2016, 05:05:24 pm »
How about opening the meter and inspecting / posting pictures with the internals?
 

Online Johnny10

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 661
  • Country: us
Re: Fluke 87-I Repair help
« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2016, 05:52:04 pm »
I have two 87 iii meters which is the next version from the 87.
Your meter is functioning normally.
In capacitance mode , no probes attached, my meters reads .33 to .35nF.

This meter is not easy to use for capacitance testing as per the manual and my experience.
Page 19 and 20 of the manual. The meter only reads to 5uF after that you must set the range and count the seconds to charge capacitor and then compare to chart.

https://physics.ucsd.edu/neurophysics/Manuals/Fluke/Fluke83.pdf

The AC random number display is simply noise.

I really like my Fluke 87's but I believe for capacitance the V series may be easier to use.
« Last Edit: March 03, 2016, 01:39:17 am by Johnny10 »
Tektronix TDS7104, DMM4050, HP 3561A, HP 35665, Tek 2465A, HP8903B, DSA602A, Tek 7854, 7834, HP3457A, Tek 575, 576, 577 Curve Tracers, Datron 4000, Datron 4000A, Fluke 181, uTracer, HP5335A, EIP534B 20GHz Frequency Counter, TrueTime Rubidium, Sencore LC102, Tek TG506, TG501, SG503, HP8568B
 

Offline Gluteniz

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: se
Re: Fluke 87-I Repair help
« Reply #3 on: March 02, 2016, 10:35:32 pm »
How about opening the meter and inspecting / posting pictures with the internals?

I have two 87 iii meters which is the next version from the 87.
Your meter is functioning normally.
In capacitance mode , no probes attached, my meters reads .33 to .3nF5.

This meter is not easy to use for capacitance testing as per the manual and my experience.
Page 19 and 20 of the manual. The meter only reads to 5uF after that you must set the range and count the seconds for a charge.
https://physics.ucsd.edu/neurophysics/Manuals/Fluke/Fluke83.pdf

The AC random number display is simply noise.

I really like my Fluke 87's but I believe for capacitance the V series may be easier to use.

Hi and thank you both for the replies!
What a relief to hear that this is normal.

Everything inside looked good to my eyes.
Here are some Internal pictures:
http://imgur.com/a/PXI6P

Once again Thank you!
 

Offline retiredcaps

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3363
  • Country: ca
Re: Fluke 87-I Repair help
« Reply #4 on: March 02, 2016, 11:30:46 pm »
Bought a used Fluke 87 first generation it was sold as "Fully tested and working 100%" but that was not the case.
Been there and done that as well.

Quote
So first find was a blown 15A 600v fuse
About 1/2 of the meters I bought as 100% working had blown fuses.  I would say 90% of ebay sellers don't know what they are saying when they say 100% working wrt to multimeters. They insist that the fuse is working otherwise the meter won't boot up or work.  Of course, they are totally incorrect and don't understand that the fuse is only used to protect the current ranges/jacks. 

Even some people here on eevblog, asking for repair help, say the fuse is okay on handheld battery operated multimeters, when they wonder why their voltage or resistance readings are off.

Quote
I replaced it with a new one but there is still something wrong,
the meter is unable to measure capacitance, without anything attached in capacitance mode it shows 00.33nF and testing with a capacitor it only shows 0.L
tested the same capacitor with a Fluke 112 and got a result directly.
The Fluke 80 series I and III measure up to 5uF.  The Fluke 112 measures up to 9999uF.
 

Offline Gluteniz

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: se
Re: Fluke 87-I Repair help
« Reply #5 on: March 03, 2016, 01:40:36 am »
Quote
The Fluke 80 series I and III measure up to 5uF.  The Fluke 112 measures up to 9999uF.

That's where I made the mistake, I somehow thought that the Fluke 87-I also could measure the 100uF cap just like the Fluke 112,
probably because it got stuck in my head looking at the wrong model manual "87-V" which can measure up to 9999uF like the 112.
« Last Edit: March 03, 2016, 01:51:28 am by Gluteniz »
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf