Author Topic: Repair Nvidia Quadro K5000 gpu  (Read 162 times)

Offline mateksz

• Contributor
Repair Nvidia Quadro K5000 gpu
« on: April 27, 2020, 11:58:49 pm »
Hi Guys,
I have a Nvidia Quadro K5000 GPU. It is working without driver (with default Microsoft driver), I can turn on the computer, but when I install the right driver, the fans starts spinning with 100% load and in the device manager I see a yellow (!). I tried with linux too, same result.
I have very little knowledge of electronics, but I took it apart and I found many shorted resistor under (other side) the GPU chip. I think it can't be good sign.
What do you think? the GPU chip is faulty? Or can be anything else? What should I check?
I really need this GPU for my work and I can't buy a new one right now. If the chip is faulty, I will try to "reflow" it. I know it is just a temporary fix. But... I do not have better idea.
Thanks for your help.

Offline coromonadalix

• Super Contributor
Re: Repair Nvidia Quadro K5000 gpu
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2020, 12:29:59 am »
you say it work: does it gives an image on your screen ?

And it can be normal to have zero value resistors (short) on the circuit, its made like this

wich drivers name did you use and wich windows do you use ??    we can't guess   without having more details,  we are not magicians loll

windows drivers link
https://www.nvidia.com/download/driverResults.aspx/120734/en-us

There is known drivers problems in windows for the quandro cards , some installations fails,  sometimes you extract the drivers package  and tell windows in the device manager where to find the drivers and try to install them manually ...
« Last Edit: April 28, 2020, 12:34:51 am by coromonadalix »

Offline mateksz

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: April 28, 2020, 12:42:38 am »
Yeah. I have image on my screen. I can read, flash new bios, install drivers, etc...

"it can be normal to have zero value resistors (short) on the circuit, its made like this" That's good news.