Author Topic: Datron 1271 firmware bug  (Read 2137 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Mickle T.

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 347
  • Country: ru
Datron 1271 firmware bug
« on: May 18, 2016, 07:07:00 am »
I have an old Datron 1271 DMM in excellent condition. But one day I found a strange bug in the DMM's firmware: the full scale (display range) is limited to 199 990 000, but not the standard 199 999 999. DMM is 1992 year of manufacture and have no any sign of repair. Full selftest is passed. S/W ISS 02.10.
Can anyone help with a more fresh ROM dump?
 

Offline TiN

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 4193
  • Country: us
  • xDevs.com/live - 24/7 lab feed
    • xDevs.com
Re: Datron 1271 firmware bug
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2016, 05:03:43 am »
Ain't firmwares from 1271 and 1281 compatible? I'd try flashing 1281 just to see if that's true.
YouTube | Metrology IRC Chat room | Live-cam | Share T&M documentation? Upload! No MB limit, firmwares, photos.
 

Offline Mickle T.

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 347
  • Country: ru
Re: Datron 1271 firmware bug
« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2016, 05:11:09 am »
They are totally incompatible  :(
 

Offline dacman

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 411
  • Country: us
Re: Datron 1271 firmware bug
« Reply #3 on: May 20, 2016, 06:43:05 pm »
The Fluke 8508A does the same thing.  It's in the specifications (although not in the extended specifications).  I would assume it is not really a bug on the 1271.
 

Offline Mickle T.

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 347
  • Country: ru
Re: Datron 1271 firmware bug
« Reply #4 on: May 20, 2016, 06:45:34 pm »
Well, it's time to dig in the 1271 f/w code  8)
 

Offline dacman

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 411
  • Country: us
Re: Datron 1271 firmware bug
« Reply #5 on: May 20, 2016, 06:58:03 pm »
Datron may have done that so that it does not need to check how many digits are selected for display.
 

Offline quarks

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 834
  • Country: de
Re: Datron 1271 firmware bug
« Reply #6 on: June 07, 2016, 08:19:00 am »
unfortunately I missed this, but I think it is as designed and not a bug.
I can check my 1271 and 8508, when I am back in my lab.

edit: as expected both (1271 and 8508) show the same 199.990.000 digits and then switch the range
       exactly what is in the 8508A user manual (see att. screenshot)
       and makes perfect sense for 5digit resolution
« Last Edit: June 07, 2016, 06:30:41 pm by quarks »
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf