Author Topic: Denon TU-680NAB Tuner Repair  (Read 3383 times)

Offline dkmthecookTopic starter

Denon TU-680NAB Tuner Repair
« on: December 15, 2015, 10:24:52 pm »
Hello. I am new to this forum as well as watching the EEVBlog videos, which I just love. I thought I would ask for a little help. I am a radio station engineer, for over 20 years now, and being in radio I get to work on some old stuff (radio station owners are  notoriously cheap). I have a Denon TU-680NAB AM/FM tuner that is defunct. I have trouble shot the thing down to the point where I am positive that the main Toshiba microcontroller is bad. It is a TMP47P870N. I called Toshiba and all the people they suggested to see if I could find another of these that was programmed for this radio. No luck. One place had them listed for $90 US but they said they no longer had access to them. Since Dave and so many others on this forum somehow find parts that seem to be made out of unobtanium on a regular basis can anyone suggest where I might get one of these or if there is some way I might be able to get a blank one, read the data off the old one, presuming it still will do that. The data sheet I have says this:
"The 47P870 is the OTP microcontroller with 64 Kbits of EPROM. For program operation, the programming is achieved by using with EPROM programmer (TMM2764D type) and adapter socket (BM1107A). The function of this device is exactly same the 47C670/870" 
That is complete with jenglish. I checked and the programmer is more or less a universal but the adapter is for 64 pin ICs.
Here is the link to Toshibas data sheet.
http://pdf.datasheetcatalog.com/datasheets/700/315381_DS.pdf

Since this receiver is about the only one that has a good enough AM, yes AM, front end to be useful as my off air monitor I really would like to get it fixed. Any help would be appreciated.

Offline mzacharias

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Denon TU-680NAB Tuner Repair
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2015, 10:27:36 pm »