Author Topic: [SOLVED] Doerr DE300B / Falcon Eyes DE300B Studio Strobe repair  (Read 1082 times)

Offline decsystem20Topic starter

[SOLVED] Doerr DE300B / Falcon Eyes DE300B Studio Strobe repair
« on: October 04, 2019, 02:47:11 pm »
Greetings everyone,

I hope you can help me solving a problem that I can't solve by myself.
I'm not a professional repairman but I like to fix broken appliances given to me by my friends and colleagues (Hey! I know you know electronics...can you fix THIS?  ::) )

The things I've fixed successfully so far are battery chargers (RC-Car-Racing stuff), SMPSs (mostly in TVs and PCs), some Electronic instruments (Synthesizers and Samplers from the 80s and early 90s, mostly powersupply issues )

Now I was asked to look after a broken Studio Strobe. I cant't identify the problem but have tried some things...all without luck.
It would be very nice if someone could put me in the right direction to bring the unit back to a working order.
I know mains voltage stuff with large capacitors is quite dangerous, but if I had done something seriously wrong I would not be able to post my problems here.   ;)

Here is a description of what I've done so far.
Attached are some photos of the PCBs. The wiring inside is quite messy.

If I need to provide additional information, please tell me what is needed.

The unit is a Doerr DE300B, 300 Ws. I think it's from around 2009. It seems it is also marketed as Falcon Eyes DE-300B

-   When I got the unit the guy who was using it told me it trips the Studio RCD when the unit is triggered (regardless if triggered over sync or with the test button)
-   It tripped the RCD when hitting the test button
-   No flash, no “tick” on triggering
-   On some occasions the RCD was tripped when the unit was switched on
-   The trigger transformer was defective
-   With the trigger transformer removed the RCD was not tripped when the unit was switched on