Author Topic: Ex Serviceman Needs Help  (Read 1879 times)

Offline adrianedTopic starter

Ex Serviceman Needs Help
« on: April 15, 2018, 01:28:32 am »
Hi Folks
I retired from servicing before the flat panel screens came out here in Australia so I have no experience repairing them.
I have decided to learn a bit by repairing my own Samsung LA40C 550 JIF Tv
It looks to me that all the back lights have gone off
Is it safe for my volt meter to check the voltage supply to the backlights or is there perhaps some reason that this cannot be done ( I presume it is Dc )
Also could someone give me an idea how high the volts are in the backlight supply line
If there is a better way of checking the supply a suggestion would be welcome
If anyone is experienced with this model It would be handy if they could let me know if there is a common part that breaks down in this model ( It appears that there are several different power supply boards for this model
Adrian

Offline duak

• Super Contributor
Re: Ex Serviceman Needs Help
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2018, 05:14:07 am »
I would bet your TV has a Cold Cathode Fluorescent Light (CCFL) backlight.  There are a couple of small tubes, on the top and bottom edges of the panel.  I don't know what the voltage is on a larger screen but on a laptop or even a 20" monitor it's like 800-1000 VAC so it's a good thing you asked.  The HV is generated by a small inverter and connected to the CCFLs with some silicone wires of maybe 1 mm diameter similar to but smaller that those used with a CRT.  If you have a 'scope, it can usually pick up the field from the inverter just by getting close to the wires.  I believe the frequency is something like 20-40KHz.  I wouldn't try to measure the voltage unless I used a HV differential probe that could safely handle KV AC signals.

Try looking for Samsung LCD TV backlight