Electronics > Repair

Facit 1132 Nixie Calculator restoration

(1/10) > >>

agent_power:
Hi community

I've got a Facit 1132 desktop calculator that I'm currently afraid to turn on. I've got no experience with tech of this vintage and I don't want to be the one that blows it up (it's unknown if the previous owner plugged it in).

Does the variac / dim bulb treatment apply here?

Anyone have service documentation for these or any other tips?

Attached are some pictures

Thanks

pqass:
The only technical info I found looking up the NEC ICs is this: https://dopecc.net/calculators/burroughs/c3317/tech/
There is a lot in common (power supply, ICs) with this model from Burroughs OEM'd by Sharp (from parent page), although the keyboard is different.

My first instincts is to test the power supply first since the ICs are unobtainium.  The transistors on the other hand, if necessary, can likely be substituted with modern general purpose, power, and high-voltage NPN and PNP types (like MPS42, MPS92).

Fortunately, it looks like you can separate the logic and display PCBs by removing the screws either side of the blue keyboard connector and pulling it off.  Then opening the black PCB ejectors (pulling on the black metal wedges toward you) and sliding out the PCBs.  Also, you will likely need to remove the screws on top of the metal nixie bracket to release the display PCB.

The PS looks like a standard linear and doesn't look too complicated.  Will likely need to reverse-engineer it to determine ground and the [looks to be at least four] output voltages it produces (based on number of TO-3s). MOST IMPORTANTLY, it will produce at least one 170V high-voltage output!  And notice the two 450V blue caps.  This is LETHAL!  Find the wires that go to the edge connectors for the logic and display boards hidden below the PS PCB and short them to ground with a resistor (1K or so) and/or check with multimeter before touching (after having energized it).