Author Topic: First time SMD repair  (Read 9581 times)

Offline dieseltech82Topic starter

• Contributor
First time SMD repair
« on: June 08, 2016, 12:04:47 pm »
I have a customer that has a xuv that is missing on one cylinder. It was diagnosed with a bad ignition coil. So the coil was replaced and it went on its way. A short time later the xuv started to miss again. The tech removed the engine controller and opened it up. He asked me to look at it and I noticed there appeared to be a lot of heating at one of the ignition cool drivers. The engine controller is 900 USD so I called Digikey and ordered a couple of these drivers. This is my first time at attempting to des older a SMD component. I have basic tools, Hako knockoff soldering iron, copper wick, manual solder sucker,, flux and good silver bearing solder.  I was thinking about cutting the legs at the component to make removal a bit easier and then use the wick for the legs and pad. Anything else I should look for or be aware of? I do have a heat gun that would get hot enough to reflow solder but it's not as precise as the rework stations, so I don't know that I want to use that. Thanks.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline tautech

• Super Contributor
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. Siglent Distributor NZ.
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: First time SMD repair
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2016, 12:19:07 pm »
Sounds like you're on the right track however a couple of things to take care with.
Cutting pins should be done with care not to stress the pins and lift a pad, some use a craft knife, some a Dremel but you must also take care there's not hidden tracks under the IC that you might inadvertently damage.

Have you got an old PCB somewhere you can polish your skills on?
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
Siglent Youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/@SiglentVideo/videos

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: June 08, 2016, 06:36:52 pm »
I may have something lying around I can play with.

• Contributor