Author Topic: Fluke 199C scopemeter repair  (Read 14975 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline feedback.loop

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 237
  • Country: us
Re: Fluke 199C scopemeter repair
« Reply #50 on: June 29, 2021, 11:37:59 pm »

I copied working dumps v702, v804 from them and made an UPDATE to Fluke 225C with busheat and language support.


Could you share the dumps please?
Thank you.
 

Offline Assafl

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 597
Re: Fluke 199C scopemeter repair
« Reply #51 on: September 30, 2021, 11:42:13 am »
Thanks for your videos. I put together a LiIon battery from a discarded bike battery and it works great (they are old 2200mAh cells - so they last "only" 7 hours! - and you don't have to fret the battery going dead for months).

Were you able to update to 225c?
AFAIK Bushealth option is a 10 character code away: Under USER -> VERSION & CAL menu click F1. 
 

Offline feedback.loop

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 237
  • Country: us
Re: Fluke 199C scopemeter repair
« Reply #52 on: October 01, 2021, 03:12:24 am »
Thanks for your videos. I put together a LiIon battery from a discarded bike battery and it works great (they are old 2200mAh cells - so they last "only" 7 hours! - and you don't have to fret the battery going dead for months).

Were you able to update to 225c?
AFAIK Bushealth option is a 10 character code away: Under USER -> VERSION & CAL menu click F1.

Do you know how to update to 225C?
 

Offline Assafl

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 597
Re: Fluke 199C scopemeter repair
« Reply #53 on: October 01, 2021, 04:49:00 am »
Do you know how to update to 225C?

Click on F1 in the VERSION & CAL menu.
[attach=1]

Click on F1
[attach=2]

I don't know what the code is though. An online search came up empty. I didn't even come across an option to update from Fluke. Maybe it was a shelved upgrade path?
 

Offline asis

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 113
  • Country: ru
Re: Fluke 199C scopemeter repair
« Reply #54 on: October 02, 2021, 07:05:21 am »
Hi,
Static SRAM (CY62147CV33) located on the module A201 together with FlashRAM (ST39VF800A) is used to save TrendPlot Waveform and Setup data in Recorder mode.
Therefore, even if the scope is turned off, the module is still powered and consumes current until the battery is completely discharged.
In addition, the RTC is also powered by a battery.
Ultimately, the battery is completely discharged, which can lead to its complete degradation.
Therefore, after you have measured and saved the results, try to upload the data to the FlukeView SW as quickly as possible.
I suggest installing some kind of switch in the device that physically disconnects the battery and thereby extends its service life.
(Which, in fact, did).
The disadvantage is that the next time you turn on the device, you need to set the Date / Time, if this is important when creating reports.
Remember to turn on the switch to charge the battery.
 

Offline feedback.loop

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 237
  • Country: us
Re: Fluke 199C scopemeter repair
« Reply #55 on: October 02, 2021, 04:16:37 pm »
Static SRAM (CY62147CV33) located on the module A201 together with FlashRAM (ST39VF800A) is used to save TrendPlot Waveform and Setup data in Recorder mode.
Therefore, even if the scope is turned off, the module is still powered and consumes current until the battery is completely discharged.

SRAM chips consume about 8-9 uA in standby, and Flash chips consume about 4 uA. I don't see any reason to worry about it.
« Last Edit: October 02, 2021, 04:18:54 pm by feedback.loop »
 

Offline feedback.loop

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 237
  • Country: us
Re: Fluke 199C scopemeter repair
« Reply #56 on: October 03, 2021, 10:41:05 pm »
A dedicated programmer for Fluke 19x memory modules was developed including software in C for an Atmel microcontroller and a piece of software in Python to control the programmer from a PC.

 
The following users thanked this post: Per Hansson, ch_scr, syau

Offline Xenawise

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 10
  • Country: us
Re: Fluke 199C scopemeter repair
« Reply #57 on: October 04, 2021, 07:41:47 pm »
I must congratulate you on this project. Surely many, many hours of work has gone into this and I for one have to say I am appreciative of all this hard work.

Any plans on making this public and/or open source? I for one think I would like to build one of these as I too have a few of these 199C scopes in my lab.

If you do decide to make it public or even decide to sell it or ask for donations, I just want you to know I would be interested.

Again, thanks for the all the hard work you have done to bring this to life.

Regards,

Xenawise
 

Offline feedback.loop

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 237
  • Country: us
Re: Fluke 199C scopemeter repair
« Reply #58 on: October 05, 2021, 01:49:39 am »
I must congratulate you on this project. Surely many, many hours of work has gone into this and I for one have to say I am appreciative of all this hard work.

Any plans on making this public and/or open source? I for one think I would like to build one of these as I too have a few of these 199C scopes in my lab.

If you do decide to make it public or even decide to sell it or ask for donations, I just want you to know I would be interested.

Again, thanks for the all the hard work you have done to bring this to life.

Regards,

Xenawise

Is there anything wrong with your units? What would you like to do with them? Keep in mind that upgrading like this will need recalibration. I built a module for a scope with a missing module, so it needs recalibration anyway. Also I don't know (yet) how to modify the serial number in the Flash so that it would match the one marked on the back cover. I would love to know how to do this.

As to making it public, perhaps I could. Perhaps, I also could build the remaining 4 boards if someone is interested. (I wonder what would be a reasonable fee for this).
 

Offline Per Hansson

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 309
  • Country: se
Re: Fluke 199C scopemeter repair
« Reply #59 on: October 05, 2021, 08:06:38 pm »
It would be interesting to be able to make a backup for sure of a working unit, flash chips do fail as you know.
At least when you have a backup you are assured your unit will never fail in a way requiring the backup :D
Thank you very much for making this video series, it has been very interesting!
« Last Edit: October 05, 2021, 08:38:23 pm by Per Hansson »
 

Offline Assafl

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 597
Re: Fluke 199C scopemeter repair
« Reply #60 on: October 07, 2021, 06:53:07 pm »
Thanks for your videos. I put together a LiIon battery from a discarded bike battery and it works great (they are old 2200mAh cells - so they last "only" 7 hours! - and you don't have to fret the battery going dead for months).

Were you able to update to 225c?
AFAIK Bushealth option is a 10 character code away: Under USER -> VERSION & CAL menu click F1.

Do you know how to update to 225C?

This works: https://xdevs.com/doc/Fluke/19x_2xxC_Scopemeter/fw_V804_225C_for_199C/
 
The following users thanked this post: mr.fabe

Offline feedback.loop

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 237
  • Country: us
Re: Fluke 199C scopemeter repair
« Reply #61 on: October 08, 2021, 03:15:07 am »
Thanks for your videos. I put together a LiIon battery from a discarded bike battery and it works great (they are old 2200mAh cells - so they last "only" 7 hours! - and you don't have to fret the battery going dead for months).

Were you able to update to 225c?
AFAIK Bushealth option is a 10 character code away: Under USER -> VERSION & CAL menu click F1.

Do you know how to update to 225C?

This works: https://xdevs.com/doc/Fluke/19x_2xxC_Scopemeter/fw_V804_225C_for_199C/

Yes, that worked! Thank you very much!
 
The following users thanked this post: hugos31

Offline mr.fabe

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 168
  • Country: us
Re: Fluke 199C scopemeter repair
« Reply #62 on: October 08, 2021, 11:32:27 am »
This works: https://xdevs.com/doc/Fluke/19x_2xxC_Scopemeter/fw_V804_225C_for_199C/
Do you know if recalibration is necessary after using this flash tool?

Thanks!
 

Offline Enginerding

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 46
  • Country: us
Re: Fluke 199C scopemeter repair
« Reply #63 on: October 09, 2021, 01:54:43 am »
@feedback

Great attention to fine details in your vids.

Any chance you have one of those PCB's left, or can share the gerbers you made?
Keithley 147/148, 196, 181, 236, 260, 616.  HP 3457a, 4274a, 6626A.  EDC MV106g, 501j.  LeCroy LC574AL/LC584AL 1GHz, 9354C.  Tek AWG610. Fluke 5200A.  And of course the ubiquitous 1054z.  Former Army Medic - IZ 3x
 

Offline Assafl

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 597
Re: Fluke 199C scopemeter repair
« Reply #64 on: October 10, 2021, 09:40:29 am »
This works: https://xdevs.com/doc/Fluke/19x_2xxC_Scopemeter/fw_V804_225C_for_199C/
Do you know if recalibration is necessary after using this flash tool?

Thanks!

According to https://www.fluke.com/en-us/support/software-downloads/fluke-190c-series-or-2x5c-series updating to 8.x needs recalibration if updating from 6.xx versions. For 7 & up recalibration isn't necessary (at least according to the Fluke site).
 
The following users thanked this post: mr.fabe

Offline feedback.loop

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 237
  • Country: us
Re: Fluke 199C scopemeter repair
« Reply #65 on: October 12, 2021, 03:37:15 pm »
@feedback

Great attention to fine details in your vids.

Any chance you have one of those PCB's left, or can share the gerbers you made?

Yes, I am thinking about publishing this, and building the remaining boards. Give me a few days.
 

Offline feedback.loop

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 237
  • Country: us
Re: Fluke 199C scopemeter repair
« Reply #66 on: October 19, 2021, 12:06:06 am »
 
The following users thanked this post: minhhvktqs

Offline Enginerding

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 46
  • Country: us
Re: Fluke 199C scopemeter repair
« Reply #67 on: October 20, 2021, 12:14:13 am »
@FeedbackLoop, I'm embarrassed I wasn't more clear, but was referencing the replacement keypad.  Derp on me.  :phew:

But I see the community has been blessed with another amazing project.  Thank you.

Would it be possible to share those board files also?
« Last Edit: October 20, 2021, 12:20:28 am by Enginerding »
Keithley 147/148, 196, 181, 236, 260, 616.  HP 3457a, 4274a, 6626A.  EDC MV106g, 501j.  LeCroy LC574AL/LC584AL 1GHz, 9354C.  Tek AWG610. Fluke 5200A.  And of course the ubiquitous 1054z.  Former Army Medic - IZ 3x
 

Offline commongrounder

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 370
  • Country: us
Re: Fluke 199C scopemeter repair
« Reply #68 on: November 03, 2021, 08:23:08 pm »
Static SRAM (CY62147CV33) located on the module A201 together with FlashRAM (ST39VF800A) is used to save TrendPlot Waveform and Setup data in Recorder mode.
Therefore, even if the scope is turned off, the module is still powered and consumes current until the battery is completely discharged.

SRAM chips consume about 8-9 uA in standby, and Flash chips consume about 4 uA. I don't see any reason to worry about it.
I happened to come across this thread just as I was replacing the battery pack in my 199c Scopemeter.  I went and set up to measure the current draw in various states. This is using a bench power supply set to 8.4 volts, and current limited to 1.5 amps.
Standby current: 840 microamps
Peak startup current: 1.221 amps
Running current: 880 milliamps bright backlight
Running current: 808 milliamps dim backlight
I did do a power up sequence using a current clamp on my scope.  If anybody wants to see that, I can post it here. Nothing other than the backlight setting changed the running current.
 

Offline noidea

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 208
  • Country: au
Re: Fluke 199C scopemeter repair
« Reply #69 on: December 01, 2021, 05:07:22 pm »
Thanks for your videos. I put together a LiIon battery from a discarded bike battery and it works great (they are old 2200mAh cells - so they last "only" 7 hours! - and you don't have to fret the battery going dead for months).

Were you able to update to 225c?
AFAIK Bushealth option is a 10 character code away: Under USER -> VERSION & CAL menu click F1.

Do you know how to update to 225C?

This works: https://xdevs.com/doc/Fluke/19x_2xxC_Scopemeter/fw_V804_225C_for_199C/

Do you know if this will work with a 196C or is there any way of upgrading a 196C to enable this?
 

Offline Per Hansson

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 309
  • Country: se
Re: Fluke 199C scopemeter repair
« Reply #70 on: December 06, 2021, 07:42:46 pm »
A special thanks to feedback.loop for this project, I now have a backup of my unit :)
I did run into a special case, but it is solved by simply installing a later version of Phyton 2.7 that I used here:
Code: [Select]
python programmer.py -i
  File "programmer.py", line 54
    print('.', end = '', flush = True)
                   ^
SyntaxError: invalid syntax

However I did find out that the connector in my unit is not in the best shape, because the unit did not power back on after re-assembly until I cleaned it a bit.
It is made by a company called SUYIN and has the marking 18215
The mating connector on the memory board has the marking 28304
I did find this connector on their website and asked how it could be bought but got no reply.
I also asked Fluke but their reply was that the connector with PCB designation X3501 and their part number: 0016 105 00041 is no longer available.
If anyone has some idea where to find it that would be nice, both for my unit but also for the programmer project itself of course...
« Last Edit: December 07, 2021, 08:14:22 pm by Per Hansson »
 

Offline asis

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 113
  • Country: ru
Re: Fluke 199C scopemeter repair
« Reply #71 on: December 07, 2021, 04:00:27 am »
Hi,
For every taste.
 

Offline Per Hansson

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 309
  • Country: se
Re: Fluke 199C scopemeter repair
« Reply #72 on: December 09, 2021, 07:27:34 pm »
Thanks for your message asis.
Perhaps I should have been clearer: feedback.loop has used connector 5-5179009-3 for his programmer project.
But he has stated in his latest video and in the project details that it is not a perfect fit for Fluke's original part.
That is the part I have mentioned in my previous post.
It would be best to find the exact part: because otherwise both connectors need to be replaced to get a proper fit...
 

Offline asis

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 113
  • Country: ru
Re: Fluke 199C scopemeter repair
« Reply #73 on: December 10, 2021, 01:06:22 am »
Hi,

Ordering Code: 0016 105 00041 - May be Fluke manufacturing specification, but is a purchase item.
It's just a unified product from different manufacturers.
It is the size and presence of gilding on the contacts that are important here, and not the feeling that it is tight.
Notice the second line in Table 8-3. Main PCA Parts:
B2000       QUARTZ CRYSTAL    25.00MHZ     C2       Ordering Code: 4022 303 20181
I'm talking about that.
--
I do not quite understand the purpose of creating this programmer (device).
It can be made easier.
Purchase two connectors for A201, make a backplane and route the data bus to different connectors (0-15 = I; 16-32 = II) and read / write in two steps, swapping (or switching the data bus) A201.
Any programmer that read / write SST39VF800A chips can be used.

The address bus, control bus and strobes are parallel. To prohibit access to SDRAM, pull up ROMCS1 to VDF so that it does not interfere.
(You still need the Fluke Flash Tool to update and calibrate, and in your case, you will need to collect a complete dump.)
If you are pursuing the goal of cloning A201 modules and putting them on stream, then there are doubts about this business, since the calibration process is not produced.
Although, this is your right.

It is important that you do it with incredible persistence, which commands respect.
 

Offline Assafl

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 597
Re: Fluke 199C scopemeter repair
« Reply #74 on: December 23, 2021, 05:17:45 pm »
Thanks for your videos. I put together a LiIon battery from a discarded bike battery and it works great (they are old 2200mAh cells - so they last "only" 7 hours! - and you don't have to fret the battery going dead for months).

Were you able to update to 225c?
AFAIK Bushealth option is a 10 character code away: Under USER -> VERSION & CAL menu click F1.

Do you know how to update to 225C?

This works: https://xdevs.com/doc/Fluke/19x_2xxC_Scopemeter/fw_V804_225C_for_199C/

Do you know if this will work with a 196C or is there any way of upgrading a 196C to enable this?

It won't I think work with a 196. I know the PC board assembly is the same for all versions of the Scopemeter and Fluke Service Center sets the correct model somehow. Maybe it is a command in the Mask ROM.
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf