Author Topic: Fluke 8060A repair help please?  (Read 2544 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline mark hodsman

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 17
  • Country: gb
Fluke 8060A repair help please?
« on: January 29, 2017, 08:40:01 pm »
Apologies for posting this in test equipment. Probably more on theme here.
I was merrily enjoying the reliability of the 8060A dmm and took a look at the power jack on the side and for the first time in its long history - I jammed in a  9V wall wart supply (not connected to mains btw). Since then it blew the bussman fuse and I can see no 5V anywhere on the board. Anyone help track down the potential problem? Im now without a meter but I can borrow a meter (albeit basic functions) as I did to test for fuse failure etc.

Thanks in advance. I do have the schematic btw
 

Offline voltz

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 267
  • Country: gb
Re: Fluke 8060A repair help please?
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2017, 08:58:43 pm »
Hi,
A link to the schematic would be useful for other readers. However i have a PDF of it here so i would suggest check for voltage at TP1 and Q1 FET from battery. This is assuming the fault was created by an unsuitable power supply and not some other fault condition.
 
The following users thanked this post: mark hodsman

Offline mark hodsman

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 17
  • Country: gb
Re: Fluke 8060A repair help please?
« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2017, 09:06:14 pm »
Yes I can confirm that apart from 9V battery voltage at one or two locations on the board there is no other +5V or -5V. There was no magic smoke or drama. IT was display blanked and that was that. I have checked TP1.

There was no power applied with the wall wart though. It was merely just inserting the jack into the socket that caused the fault
 

Offline mark hodsman

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 17
  • Country: gb
Re: Fluke 8060A repair help please?
« Reply #3 on: January 29, 2017, 09:31:12 pm »
Yes I checked TP3. Thats close to the Zener VR1? zilch. I guess it must be the MAC chip then which is a bit catastrophic given that no voltage was actually applied. Just an unplugged wall wart. Seems very terminal I think... :o{
 

Offline voltz

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 267
  • Country: gb
Re: Fluke 8060A repair help please?
« Reply #4 on: January 29, 2017, 11:00:39 pm »
For reference, there's a good blog here including a list of TP voltages:
http://mrmodemhead.com/blog/fluke-8060a-repair/

and manual here:
http://media.fluke.com/documents/8060a___imeng0300.pdf
 

Offline ModemHead

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 730
  • Country: us
  • No user-serviceable parts inside.
    • Mr. ModemHead
Re: Fluke 8060A repair help please?
« Reply #5 on: January 29, 2017, 11:40:37 pm »
There was no power applied with the wall wart though. It was merely just inserting the jack into the socket that caused the fault
The DC coax jack contains a switch that disconnects the battery.  Look inside the jack to make sure the leaf is not hung up or not making contact for some reason.  Simple stuff first...

 
The following users thanked this post: mark hodsman

Offline mark hodsman

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 17
  • Country: gb
Re: Fluke 8060A repair help please?
« Reply #6 on: January 30, 2017, 09:14:16 pm »
Mr Modemhead....its fixed. Thats what it was/is a faulty contacting switch.

Many thanks for everyones help.
 

Offline ModemHead

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 730
  • Country: us
  • No user-serviceable parts inside.
    • Mr. ModemHead
Re: Fluke 8060A repair help please?
« Reply #7 on: January 30, 2017, 09:59:44 pm »
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf