Author Topic: Fluke 8200A read problem.  (Read 7263 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline neo

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1696
  • Country: us
  • The specialist.
Re: Fluke 8200A read problem.
« Reply #75 on: October 08, 2017, 02:00:21 am »
I've done some thinking, no need to run to the bomb shelters they are innocuous thoughts, only one switch is permanently knackered so if i could just get some one with better fine motor control to reassemble them i would be golden.
A hopeless addict (and slave) to TEA and a firm believer that high frequency is little more than modern hoodoo.
 

Offline bitseeker

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 8534
  • Country: us
  • Lots of engineer-tweakable parts inside!
Re: Fluke 8200A read problem.
« Reply #76 on: October 08, 2017, 02:52:56 am »
That sounds good. They don't even have to know any electronics. A neighbor, perhaps?
I TEA.
 

Offline neo

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1696
  • Country: us
  • The specialist.
Re: Fluke 8200A read problem.
« Reply #77 on: October 08, 2017, 03:22:58 am »
That sounds good. They don't even have to know any electronics. A neighbor, perhaps?

I live in the middle of nowhere, as such i have two neighbors. One is an old man whose hands shake worse than mine and the other....... lets just say we have a long history and a feud. Any other neighbors are what you would call hillbillies and they won't talk to me because i am still an outsider after 3 years here  :-DD
A hopeless addict (and slave) to TEA and a firm believer that high frequency is little more than modern hoodoo.
 

Offline Cubdriver

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 2872
  • Country: us
  • Nixie addict
    • Photos of electronic gear
Re: Fluke 8200A read problem.
« Reply #78 on: October 08, 2017, 04:01:29 am »
Any possibility of finding the missing contact?

If you want, I'd be willing to take a crack at reassembling it if you send the interconnect/display assembly to me.  It's small enough that it shouldn't be too much to ship.  If you're not in a mad rush to get it up and running again, I'd say let's wait for a bit and see if something that contacts or switches could be pilfered from turns up.  I might be headed out west again in time for the TRW swap meet, and could look there to see if anything useful turns up...

-Pat
If it jams, force it.  If it breaks, you needed a new one anyway...
 

Offline neo

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1696
  • Country: us
  • The specialist.
Re: Fluke 8200A read problem.
« Reply #79 on: October 08, 2017, 07:48:16 am »
Its not just a missing contact, two are bent one is missing as is the spring. I know i screwed up on one. I could ship it to you, so long as i know you are expecting it, i assume this forum will serve as record of it if i did that.

With the remaining bits and bobs from the switches i had an old test tube vial which i filled with isopropyl and put them in that, also side their springs. All the other bits are also in little vials, though none in isopropyl, and all the vials i put in a ziploc bag. Best way i could think of to keep track of all of it, screws included, without completely reassembling the thing.

Also of note the M \$\Omega\$ switch would have to desoldered to be taken apart due to a standoff on the board. Desoldering the switches entirely MIGHT be required to get them back together correctly.

No mad rush but this is, for lack of better term, one of my dream multimeters so i just want it to work, i have a build your own fluke 8200A kit only with the switches missing.   :-DD
« Last Edit: October 08, 2017, 07:51:43 am by neo »
A hopeless addict (and slave) to TEA and a firm believer that high frequency is little more than modern hoodoo.
 

Offline bitseeker

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 8534
  • Country: us
  • Lots of engineer-tweakable parts inside!
Re: Fluke 8200A read problem.
« Reply #80 on: October 09, 2017, 02:06:43 am »
I live in the middle of nowhere, as such i have two neighbors. One is an old man whose hands shake worse than mine and the other....... lets just say we have a long history and a feud. Any other neighbors are what you would call hillbillies and they won't talk to me because i am still an outsider after 3 years here  :-DD

Wow, only two neighbors. That does sound remote. Thank goodness for the Internet and shipping. :-+
I TEA.
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf