Author Topic: Network test equipment - Broken FPGA??  (Read 4126 times)

Offline johnmxTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Network test equipment - Broken FPGA??
« on: July 21, 2014, 03:25:22 pm »
Hi,

At my work (public research group) we have an expensive network test equipment bought in 2009 that stopped working after being unused for 3 months. The manufacturer (IXIAcom) doesn’t give support anymore and the only way is to buy a new mainframe. But I want to try to repair it before giving up.
I have no experience with FPGA’s, so I’m asking your personal opinion about where could be the fault.

The system
The main frame is made of a complete PC, a control board and power supplies. I was able to make a block diagram (attached picture) just by looking to the system.
The PC seems fine, including its RAM memory. I double checked with a special memory analyse tool.

The Error
When the system boots, it gives a timeout error while downloading the FPGA’s firmware. I can open the firmware file (b0019B.hex) on the host PC with notepad and it seems fine.

The booting process
According to the created log file (original text inside double quotes) and my personal analysis, the system performs the following (please see the attached picture):
- Power-up
- Establish connection with the MFPGA (XC2S150) via TCP sockets
- Get MFPGA version: "MFPGA version 31". This FPGA was programmed automatically by the CPLD during boot. This firmware is located in the PROM XC18V01.
- Program the MFPGA with a newer firmware. The SRAM should be used as a buffer:
    - "Downloading MFPGA via SRAM Interface"
    - "Verifying MFPGA download via SRAM Interface"
    - "Configuring MFPGA via SRAM Interface"
- Get MFPGA version: “MFPGA version 52”
- Enable chassis power   
- Get power supplies status and test all 8 huge fans by checking their maximum rpm.
- Program the big FPGA's (XC2VP7):
    - “Download C:\Program Files\Ixia\(...)\Fpga\b0019B.hex”
- But after some seconds it gives an error: