Author Topic: Korad KA3305p I messed up  (Read 563 times)

Offline escapekitTopic starter

• Contributor
Korad KA3305p I messed up
« on: September 20, 2023, 03:01:14 pm »
Hi guys,
I am an electronics hobbyist and I do some custom electronics for theatre or escape rooms as a side gig when the oportunity presents itself.
I've been using my Korad KA3305p I bought in 2018 following advice on this forum and I am very happy with it.
Link to KA3305p: https://shorturl.at/ceru2
Sadly I messed it up.
I had the "great" idea of placing over the workbench only the front panel, and moving the rest of the unit under the bench.
This way I could save precious bench realstate. To do it I just had to make the internal wires longer. Easy enough I thought.
Most of them are regular wires, as long as I use the same or bigger wire gauge it should be fine.
One of them is a 34 pin ribbon cable though. I don't have any one of those long enough to replace, since I didn't want to order one and wait, I grabed a very long old one I had lying aroud that has 25 pins and frankestained it into the 34pin connectors. (you can see one end of it  in the img).

Long story short, I messed up the position of the connectors and connected one of the ends in the reverse order. Luckily I pluged the PS with the cover off (I had a bad feeling for the janky wire) and immediately saw a small fire in the main display PCB and disconnected it in half a second.
After reversing the connector and plugging it in again, the PS seems to work just fine.

In the picture attached you can see the PCB with the burnt component (Q15). I do not see anything else that is obviously damaged, just the sot23 mosfet that was lit on fire for a second.

Following the traces it seems like the drain is connected to one of the relays on the board. I assume those relays's function is to use both channels in parallel/series, wich I don't do often, maybe once a year if ever.

Questions I would be VERY thankful if you can answer: