Author Topic: Hakko FX-888D 120V connected to 230V  (Read 2792 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline lpc32

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 454
Hakko FX-888D 120V connected to 230V
« on: July 07, 2015, 06:29:39 pm »
In case anyone's ever done what the subject line says, was there anything to replace other than the fuse?
« Last Edit: July 17, 2018, 07:26:28 pm by lpc32 »
 

Offline lpc32

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 454
Re: Hakko FX-888D 120V connected to 230V
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2015, 08:04:10 pm »
Well, it looks okay with a new fuse. The temperature may be off somewhat, but it's probably unrelated.

The original fuse was NSF FCT from Nippon Seisen Cable. It appears to be a medium/semi time-lag, but what I replaced it with is defined "fast".

And I don't understand what's so difficult in making a 20x5mm fuse really 20mm...


BTW, Hakko's official replacement is the B3722 fuse board. It's both expensive and more difficult to replace than just the fuse.


« Last Edit: September 19, 2015, 04:08:59 pm by lpc32 »
 

Offline ripplingwater75

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • Country: sg
Re: Hakko FX-888D 120V connected to 230V
« Reply #2 on: April 13, 2018, 05:59:12 am »
hi,

Just curious - did you manage to revive the FX888D? Lol, I did the exact same thing! - plugged in FX888D ( the 120V version ) into a 220V supply accidentally  :palm:. It was unfortunate that the vendor from whom I brought it never highlighted (in bold/red) that it is a 120V version. These days we are so used to 110-230v range that sometimes we totally  miss checking and end up with a fried device :)

In any case just wanted to check if your FX888D is "back to normal"? I am awaiting the fuse board because at the moment the resistance across the live/neutral pins is not showing any value - so I guess ( and hoping ) that it just blew out the fuse. Thanks & Cheers - RW
 

Offline lpc32

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 454
Re: Hakko FX-888D 120V connected to 230V
« Reply #3 on: July 17, 2018, 07:29:13 pm »
Yeah, it works. As said in the message previous to yours. :)

I replaced just the fuse, not the board.

 

Offline Tommaso Barina

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • Country: it
Re: Hakko FX-888D 120V connected to 230V
« Reply #4 on: August 02, 2020, 08:17:34 pm »
Hi, I did the same mistake. I live in Italy and we have 220V.

BTW: what to you use to convert the voltage in order to use your Hakko station in your country?

Any suggestion would be appreciated.

Best regards.

Tommaso
 

Offline builder01

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 6
  • Country: nl
Re: Hakko FX-888D 120V connected to 230V
« Reply #5 on: September 24, 2020, 08:23:57 pm »
I just did the same stupid mistake and fortunately found your post.
Did you use a 220V to 110V converter to use it?

Greetings from the Netherlands

Ernesto
 

Offline lpc32

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 454
Re: Hakko FX-888D 120V connected to 230V
« Reply #6 on: January 01, 2021, 02:02:04 am »
BTW: what to you use to convert the voltage in order to use your Hakko station in your country?

Did you use a 220V to 110V converter to use it?

Using a bulky transformer black box thing, that can both step up and down, similar to this:
https://www.ebay.com/itm/Heavy-Duty-ST300-300-Watt-110-220-Volt-Voltage-Converter-110v-220v-Transformer/112237540685



« Last Edit: January 01, 2021, 02:07:51 am by lpc32 »
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf