Author Topic: Hameg HM203-5 repair (bad trigger?)  (Read 3446 times)

Offline pi-ampTopic starter

• Contributor
Hameg HM203-5 repair (bad trigger?)
« on: January 23, 2020, 08:05:33 pm »
Hello!
this is my first post here :)
i'm a french hobbyist and tube amp tech.
I have a trusty Hameg HM203-5 scope that began to behave strangely some days ago.
There seems to be something wrong with the triggering, i get a vertical line on the left and i can see the "return line" (see included picture)
I get the same results with different function generators. On both channels. At every trigger settings...
And sometimes (couldnt get it on picture) there is a intermitent inverted trace added to the signal...

What's wrong with my old hameg?
Thanks!

Offline shakalnokturn

• Super Contributor
Re: Hameg HM203-5 repair (bad trigger?)
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2020, 08:42:13 pm »
I can see the vertical line to the left of the screen on your photo. That seems to indicate that blanking and start of sweep aren't in sync. Sweep begins too long after un-blanking.
I can't see the "return line" in your picture though, if you can see it that would also point towards a problem with the blanking.
What makes you think the trigger is the problem? Does your trace jitter or roll horizontally on the screen?

Offline Kleinstein

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2020, 08:53:42 pm »
For the relatively slow 500 µs / DIV mode the return trace would be weak. It gets more relative time  (an thus more visible if the blanking is bad) with a faster deflection.

If the return line is also visible (with fast deflection) one may have the blanking not working at all and not just a delay problem.

Offline shakalnokturn

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: January 23, 2020, 08:57:14 pm »
A couple of topics on other versions (should be similar) of HM203 that I have repaired if that can give you a clue for things to look at:

https://www.eevblog.com/forum/repair/hameg-hm203-6-blanking-glitch-189069/