Author Topic: Help identifying blown part on Sony BDP-S590 Blu-Ray player.  (Read 8491 times)

Offline trnkyitTopic starter

I need some guidance. 

I really don't know where to begin.  I have never tried to fix anything before, but as I age, I'm getting tired of replacing hardware.  I swear this stuff is laughing at me, no, taunting me, and before I take a hammer to it, I'll give it a go and maybe learn something. 

Anyway, I have a few items around here in a constant state of laughter...

This is a Sony BDP-S590 Blu-Ray player that was most likely in a lighting strike.  The attached image is the power supply board with the 110 cord attached.  I've noticed a blown " transistor "?  At least I think its a transistor, as it has three leads....   Okay I don't know what it is.  Searching the Intertubes has proven very useful.

How does one figure out what that is?

I'm sure there are some threads that show you to to do trouble shooting like this, but I haven't clicked on one...

Corey

Offline theatrus

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Help identifying blown part on Sony BDP-S590 Blu-Ray player.
« Reply #1 on: July 04, 2014, 01:24:53 am »
The only semiconductor in this picture is the one labeled IC201 - is that the part in question?

Any chance of reading the markings on it? The SOT-23 won't have much. The pinout labeling (nice!) or A/K/R is also interesting, which might indicate a reference.
Software by day, hardware by night; blueAcro.com

« Reply #2 on: July 04, 2014, 01:34:34 am »
Yes, the IC201 is the blown part.  I can't read anything on it. 

On a different board there is another similar sized semiconductor labeled  " K-1 ".   What are the odds they are the same thing?

Offline theatrus

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #3 on: July 04, 2014, 01:41:33 am »
Yes, the IC201 is the blown part.  I can't read anything on it. 

On a different board there is another similar sized semiconductor labeled  " K-1 ".   What are the odds they are the same thing?