Author Topic: Help identifying component on computer motherboard  (Read 2848 times)

Offline keystoneTopic starter

• Contributor
Help identifying component on computer motherboard
« on: January 24, 2022, 05:34:18 am »
Hello everyone.  I'm looking at an old ECS PT800CE computer motherboard that won't power up.  Specifically I'm looking at the voltage regulator circuit area.  There seems to be a short somewhere.  I have limited troubleshooting experience but I do have a dmm and know how to use it.  One component in question is I believe a mosfet but not sure.  It has an ON Semiconductor logo on it.  I went to their website and looked for a part number but couldn't decipher the numbers on the face of the component.  There are 3 of these in the same area on the motherboard.  Any help identifying these would be appreciated.  Thank you for looking.

Offline retiredfeline

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Help identifying component on computer motherboard
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2022, 05:37:13 am »
Hmm, I put in T60N02R into a web search and it was immediately identified as a power mosfet by ON Semi.

The following users thanked this post: keystone

Offline sean0118

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2022, 05:41:03 am »
Yeah retiredfeline is right, the 437 is just a datecode, NTD60N02R is the part you want.

https://www.onsemi.com/pdf/datasheet/ntd60n02r-d.pdf
« Last Edit: January 24, 2022, 05:42:40 am by sean0118 »

Offline cybermaus

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #3 on: January 24, 2022, 11:17:48 am »
Shorts are quite often capacitors. And hard to pin-point using a DMM, because everything they touch appears as short as well.
Check if the FET measures as diode on some and open on other pins, or indeed it is shorted on some pins

But even if it does appear shorted, while it could be the FET, also suspect any capacitors or diodes linked to it.
Oh, and the nearby transformer also will measure as short, even though perfectly fine.