Electronics > Repair

Help me repair my expensive Virpil flight sim controller (ATMEGA32U4)

(1/4) > >>

loiphin:
Hi guys,

Today is the day I ask you all for help. I have been on eevblog for many years now, and now I have a challenge.

I bought a Virpil Control Panel 2 which I use for flight sims. Cost about 300 euro, so its not cheap. Worked great for two months but now it doesn't come up as a USB device anymore at all. It just stopped working. It has sat statically in my simpit for two months. Virpil will send me a new board, but its going to take weeks, so I would like to give it a shot of fixing it myself.

Its a really simple ATMEGA32U4, running at 16Mhz. Not much on the board. Pictures below :)

I have the following:

* A hacked Rigol oscilloscope
* A Multimeter
* Soldering and desoldering tools
* A passion for troubleshooting (network engineer (CCIE) by trade)
* I know my way around Arduinos fairly well

What I already know:

The board doesnt boot at all. No USB indications or sounds in Windows. (I have the USB VID/PID if necessary)
I have tried the bootloader (short out the BOOT pins), but also nothing.
The only indication I have is that upon connecting the USB cable, some of the LEDs briefly flicker. Thats it.
I have managed to flash a hex image (LUFA MMJOY2 file) and successfully verified it with avrdude, using the SPI interface and an Arduino ISP. But it still shows no signs of life upon connecting. Could it be a passive component failure?
Cabling is verified good.

I have no experience on where to start troubleshooting. Obiwan, you are my only hope....

I have the binary hex image for the Virpil controller, from their VPC Configuration tool (this tool allows you to configure the joystick and do custom things). The problem is that the image doesnt appear to be in standard Intel hex. It has a .HEXC extension, so I wonder if they have compressed it? Maybe someone could figure it out.