Author Topic: Help needed to find why HP 54510A oscilloscope won't boot or stay on  (Read 12172 times)

Offline sebthTopic starter

• Contributor
Hi everyone,

I'm just starting to learn electronics as a hobby so I need all the help I can get.

I recently bought an HP 54510A oscilloscope from Kijiji. The guy had it powered up and plugged on the calibrator output on the back to show me it was working. We talked for a couple of minutes while the scope was powered on and everything seemed fine.

When I got home, I started to follow the Getting Started Guide. First step was to "Resetting the instrument". Press the RECALL and CLEAR key. I guess that's a kind of factory defaults. Then it said to plug the probe to the ac calibrator output and press AUTOSCALE. Nothing happend, so I decided to reboot the scope and try again. That's when the problems started.

Now most of the time I can't see anything on the screen when I power it up. Sometimes the fan is stuck in a loop where it stops and starts again at about 1 second interval. A couple of times the screen came up, but it stopped after about 1 minute or less.

Can anyone help me in finding, and possibly fixing the problem ?

Thank you

Offline singapol

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Help needed to find why HP 54510A oscilloscope won't boot or stay on
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2015, 05:49:31 pm »
Sorry to hear, maybe you are better off with an analog scope but since you got this hp scope...

A previous thread might help...It could be the emi filter (shafner brand) could have failed.
PS you may wish you had not got this type of digital scope given the replacements you have to do.

https://www.eevblog.com/forum/repair/hp-54501a-troubleshooting-repair/

The service manual:
http://cp.literature.agilent.com/litweb/pdf/54510-90903.pdf

The front panel:
http://cp.literature.agilent.com/litweb/pdf/54510-90901.pdf
« Last Edit: September 26, 2015, 05:53:00 pm by singapol »

• Contributor