Author Topic: Help to repair Velleman PSU PS3005D 0 - 30 V/DC / 0 - 5 A dual led display  (Read 2933 times)

Offline clearscreenTopic starter

• Contributor
  • Engineer, fan or reel2reel and vintage computer
Greetings,
first let me thank EEVBlog owner, this is a grat source of inspiration.

I didn't see a presentation area, so here i'm.

I'm a computing engineer (that's my main job) working in software architecture and now in information security. I did also physics but i didn't do my job with that :-).

Although i'm doing a lots of numeric, i stayed in vintage and analog stuff (i'm a strange beast for my colleagues). I love to restore vintage computers (cp/m one, old pc and unix stations). I love also reel 2 reel tape (i've restored a revox A77 and a studer A80 RC MARK II - see my avatar).

I hope to learn a lot and to have great discussions on this forum.

I open this topic to ask about PSU repair because i've not so many luck with my lab instruments :-)
After my Ox8022 metrix oscilloscope i bought (fixed !) it's now my velleman PS3005D (0 - 30 V/DC / 0 - 5 A dual led display) which troubleshoot.

There is no problem in current and voltage delivery but the first digit of V and A are anormally weak (so imagine you read 1V and you sent 21V...). Neither velleman nor the seller will provide help.

So i ask your help to try to fix that because i don't like to trash things and if it's only display i think that i can perhaps solve this with your help.

Many thanks for answering.
« Last Edit: July 18, 2020, 01:56:08 am by clearscreen »

Offline LateLesley

• Frequent Contributor
From what I can find, it seems to be a rebadged Korad KA3005P. (source -  https://sigrok.org/wiki/Velleman_PS3005D)

I can't seem to find a service manual for it though.

Dave did do a teardown of this type of supply, but I don't know how useful that would be.

• Contributor
Greatings LateLesley,
many thanks for answering.