Author Topic: HP 1727A oscilloscope with multiple issues.  (Read 7751 times)

Offline Alex_BakerTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Re: HP 1727A oscilloscope with multiple issues.
« Reply #75 on: May 29, 2021, 08:44:28 pm »
OK, so it seems that the gate output is intermittent, most of the time when I was testing it today it was just sitting at 4V on the scope. The two input signals comp gate and delayed gate are fine, so its being lost somewhere on A13. I am not very good at visualizing circuits so I don't know how the signal path works, and it is very hard to get a scope probe onto most of A13 to trace things.

Offline cosenmarco

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #76 on: May 31, 2021, 06:50:24 am »
I don't think there is a problem is the LVPS.
I don't think either. Perhaps I wasn't clear enough: I think the LVPS is going into protection mode after the "snap" event but the cause is somewhere. Perhaps the LVPS going in protection mode causes the "snap" you hear. Sometime capacitors especially tantalums fail intermittently and unpredictably and becoming basically a quite low resistor, like 50Ohm, which trips overcurrent protection in the power supply making it hard to detect because they don't continue cooking off and releasing smoke.

One of the output transistors gets pretty hot while the other does not.
there you go... the one which is not getting hot is the suspicious one, but check all four Q13-16, the resistors and caps as well once the transistors are out of circuit.

I am not very good at visualizing circuits so I don't know how the signal path works