Author Topic: HP 1727A oscilloscope with multiple issues.  (Read 7606 times)

Offline Alex_BakerTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
HP 1727A oscilloscope with multiple issues.
« on: April 20, 2021, 09:01:38 pm »
Hello people of the EEVBlog forum, I am new here, this is my first post. I should start by saying that I am a beginner, or just above beginner level so bear with me here.

The background here is that a few months ago I bought a used HP 1727A dual channel storage scope on ebay with unknown issues  :-BROKE , the seller had pictures of it powered on, but when I got it it the screen did not light up, long story short it arrived in the box with more issues than when it was put in the box. It turn out that the no screen issue was caused by power supply issues and a secondary issue on the "storage board" I fixed those problems, there were several shorted transistors, but a couple of major problems remain, both of which I cannot trouble shoot om my own, that where the forum comes in,  :)

The first thing I would like to tackle is the channel inputs, channel A works kind of (although V/dv is way off), and channel B does not work at all. The puzzling thing is that while inserting the test signal from the scope into channel A, a trace shows up as normal but then there is a second smaller trace in the middle of the screen in a arch shape. I attached a picture of it, I don't know how to insert pictures in here yet.

I have done some probing around with my USB scope and I have some ideas on what the issue could be but I don't know enough to make any conclusions. The other problem I think has to do with the CRT, or at least it shows symptoms of another problem, I will explain it more once I get some pictures of it but for now I want to focus on the channel issue.