Author Topic: HP 1740A Channel B not working and flickering on A  (Read 6315 times)

Offline PurpleAmaranthTopic starter

• Contributor
HP 1740A Channel B not working and flickering on A
« on: May 05, 2021, 05:06:46 am »
I picked up an HP 1740A oscilloscope recently. I replaced the fuse and it now turns on just fine, and somewhat works. However, channel B doesn't work at all (only the flat line on the graticule shows, even when probing the 1V CAL signal). As for channel A, it works except for TIME/DIV larger than .2mSEC, it flickers rapidly even when not proving anything, and the RESET light flickers along with the displayed signal.

I'm pretty new with all this. Any advice on what to check?

Thanks!

Offline lowimpedance

• Super Contributor
  • Watts in an ohm?
Re: HP 1740A Channel B not working and flickering on A
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2021, 11:26:42 am »
Firstly go over to the thread about restoration of a HP 1741 by forum member 'tekfan' and read that for any tips etc.
Its in the test equipment section, and has been recently resuscitated !. Next download the manual from the link I posted in that thread. That site should have the 1740 but the 1741 is very close for the most part.
 The power supply needs verifying to be operational first. And do be careful working on the live innards as there is dangerous voltages present, know what you're doing.
Actually the very first thing to do is check for loose or oxidized interconnections which could easily be the case with gear this old. Also dry joints are highly likely in the power supply PCB so check for those then measure the supply rails  etc.
 Once the power supply has been cleared of any issues then move to the vertical input stage and check the resisters around the the hybrid for any that have drifted high, this Will cause bias shifts in the DC coupled stages and could easily cause the loss of the input signal getting to the CRT.

« Last Edit: May 05, 2021, 11:28:37 am by lowimpedance »