Author Topic: HP 1740A low level power supply  (Read 1245 times)

Offline john2021Topic starter

• Contributor
HP 1740A low level power supply
« on: May 17, 2021, 04:41:06 pm »
Hello everyone
I hope someone can help me with troubleshooting an old HP1740A low level power supply.
I am not an expert electronics guy, but I know the basic stuff.
As of now I managed to get all the right voltages across the main caps as well as the test points TP1,2,3,4,5 with the same negative pin on the board but not the 120v on TP6 (only 8v).
I get the 120v on TP6 with the negative lead on the negative of cap C3. I guess I don’t get the negative side for the power supply.
Any help would be very much appreciated
John

Offline lowimpedance

• Super Contributor
  • Watts in an ohm?
Re: HP 1740A low level power supply
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2021, 11:32:47 pm »
What value is R2 ?, (the 120V rail current limit sense resistor). Any burning or signs of thermal stress on any components?.
Note if ok then the schematic has operational voltages noted for the  transistors in the 120V regulator and others.
Also be careful poking around in this scope when powered.
The odd multimeter or 2 or 3 or 4...or........can't remember !.

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: May 18, 2021, 01:50:01 pm »
Thank you very much for the response, I do appreciate it.
R2 measured resistance correctly and there are no signs of heating, I get about 150v on it.
When I test in diode mode (continuity) on Q3 I get a short on all legs also with reverse leads.
Could this be the problem?
Is it possible to test Q3 on board, or do I need to pull it off of the board?
I have a PN2222A transistor at hand could it be a suitable replacement?

Thanks again
John

Offline Alex_Baker

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #3 on: May 18, 2021, 11:33:06 pm »