Author Topic: HP 3325B Function Generator [FAIL 023]  (Read 2981 times)

Offline Bakafish

• Contributor
HP 3325B Function Generator [FAIL 023]
« on: November 02, 2017, 04:10:24 am »
Hi guys. I got unlucky with a unit I bought at auction, which arrived today with FAIL errors on startup.  :palm:

Who I am:
I'm a newbie to this stuff, I got lucky with a pair of Agilent 663XB Power Supplies and rolled the dice on an auction thinking this would complete my basic electronics set. I paid more than I should of, because I like the look and feel of the classic gear and thought this would be a better choice than a cheap import box.

What I have:
The janky service manual PDF from the Keyspan website, a 200 MHz 2 channel scope, several good multimeters and the desire to mitigate the loss of $400, but I'm going to need a good deal of help from the community.

What I know so far:
Seems like a common error with these units based on a quick google, but I didn't find a clearly documented fix. I'm assuming it will be an adventure to isolate.
I saw another link on this forum with that unit showing clear damage to lots of resistors in the output section, but my visual inspection shows nothing out of sorts with the same board, and no obvious signs of damage anywhere else. The sine, square and triangle wave modes all show " - CAL -" followed by "FAIL 023" then display the frequency.
The Saw tooth modes show "FAIL 023" followed with a "FAIL 041" that stays present.

Requesting a 1000 Hz sine wave at 1 volt of output shows the waveform clipped at the top and offset ~5 volts positive as near as I can tell. The other waveforms appear to be clipped and offset similarly. Adjusting the DC Offset to its maximum of -4.5 improves, but does not resolve the clipping.

That's what I know. Patience and assistance greatly desired! I should be able to follow instruction, but I'm somewhat new to this world and don't have formal training, so I hope I'm worth the effort.

Offline vindoline

• Supporter