Author Topic: HP 34401 probe fits very tightly  (Read 771 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline tkamiya

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2110
  • Country: us
HP 34401 probe fits very tightly
« on: December 03, 2021, 05:42:05 pm »
Hi.....

I have something like 8 HP 34401 (not all of them are mine) and third-party probes.  All of them fit very tightly/snugly into terminals on 34401.  That is, as if outer diameter of the insulation on banana plug is too large.  Is this the way they fit?  I don't own a genuine probe by HP.  Some of them are just tight, but most of them are so tight, they are hard to pull them out.  What I have are eBay specials. 

Have anyone experienced this?
 

Online TheSteve

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 3464
  • Country: ca
  • Living the Dream
Re: HP 34401 probe fits very tightly
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2021, 04:29:28 am »
I think you need better quality probes :)
VE7FM
 
The following users thanked this post: TiN

Offline Wallace Gasiewicz

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 457
  • Country: us
Re: HP 34401 probe fits very tightly
« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2021, 10:58:17 am »
Usually mine are too loose HA!

Sometimes a little white thermo grease (for mounting transistors on a heat sink) helps. Just a little. I know it is not conductive but does not matter.

Wally
 

Offline tkamiya

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2110
  • Country: us
Re: HP 34401 probe fits very tightly
« Reply #3 on: December 04, 2021, 02:44:26 pm »
You mean to say eBay probes aren't quality?  Ad said "made of high grade material in China."  Supposedly they are compatible with HP, fluke, Agilent, etc, etc, etc    :-DD
 

Offline Hamelec

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 52
  • Country: de
Re: HP 34401 probe fits very tightly
« Reply #4 on: December 04, 2021, 04:06:55 pm »
..had the same Issue.
Used a reamer to fix it 10 Years ago.
See Service Note as attached.
 
The following users thanked this post: coromonadalix

Offline tkamiya

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2110
  • Country: us
Re: HP 34401 probe fits very tightly
« Reply #5 on: December 04, 2021, 04:34:19 pm »
thanks for the bulletin.  That clears my problems.  Thanks again.
 

Offline coromonadalix

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3625
  • Country: ca
Re: HP 34401 probe fits very tightly
« Reply #6 on: December 04, 2021, 05:34:19 pm »
Never saw this bulletin  :-+
 

Offline tooki

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 7939
  • Country: ch
Re: HP 34401 probe fits very tightly
« Reply #7 on: December 04, 2021, 08:23:21 pm »
..had the same Issue.
Used a reamer to fix it 10 Years ago.
See Service Note as attached.
How the heck is the service note branded Agilent yet copyrighted 6 years before Agilent was created? Surely they didn’t just go and replace “HP” in old documents without updating copyright dates?
 

Offline Gyro

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 7763
  • Country: gb
Re: HP 34401 probe fits very tightly
« Reply #8 on: December 04, 2021, 08:31:29 pm »
When is a 4mm banana plug not a 4mm banana plug?...  When it's a <0.155" banana plug!  >:D
Regards, Chris

"Victor Meldrew, the Crimson Avenger!"
 

Offline tkamiya

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2110
  • Country: us
Re: HP 34401 probe fits very tightly
« Reply #9 on: December 04, 2021, 11:54:00 pm »
Wow....  I didn't expect an official response like this existed.  So, the problem is the copper sleeve, not the plastic part?  Just confirming.
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf