Author Topic: HP 34401a error 624  (Read 1242 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline MicroEmbedded

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 10
HP 34401a error 624
« on: May 30, 2019, 02:48:55 am »
HI everyone, first time posting here.  I recently purchased a 34401a from ebay knowing it had an error message on the front display.

My research through the manual points me to U500 but no reference designator are on the board. Can anybody help me find u500?
 

Offline TenderTendon

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: us
Re: HP 34401a error 624
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2019, 04:43:42 am »
You can download the service manual here: https://xdevs.com/doc/HP_Agilent_Keysight/service/34401A/34401A%20service.pdf

You can locate the component on page 9-5. I would start by checking R555, C555 and CR554
« Last Edit: May 30, 2019, 05:05:35 am by TenderTendon »
 

Offline MicroEmbedded

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 10
Re: HP 34401a error 624
« Reply #2 on: May 30, 2019, 05:41:03 am »
Thanks for the manual and helping me find U500. 

A little bit more background about my troubleshooting and findings.  Once I opened it, I found out the transformer was loose (swinging) and missing one of the mounting bolts which I later found all the way across case so it probably shorted a few things along the way.

Per manual: Code 624 Unable to sense line frequency.

I will check those parts TenderTendon suggested and will report test results.
« Last Edit: May 30, 2019, 05:50:49 am by MicroEmbedded »
 

Offline MicroEmbedded

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 10
Re: HP 34401a error 624
« Reply #3 on: June 03, 2019, 08:14:11 pm »
I ordered and replaced C555 R555 and CR554 still have 624 error.

Per manual:

• Self-test 624, determines the correct power-line frequency for the
measurement section.

Unable to sense line frequency This test checks that the LSENSE
logic input to U500 is toggling. If no logic input is detected, the instrument
will assume 50 Hz line operation for all future measurements.

I checked the fuses and the found out the input current fuse(3A) in the back was blown.

Anybodyelse has any suggestions?
 

Offline coromonadalix

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2459
  • Country: ca
Re: HP 34401a error 624
« Reply #4 on: June 03, 2019, 08:50:53 pm »
As  written by other members  you have to follow the sense line up to the u500 chip, and test every component you find on the way ... yeah you dont have many


What do you have on pin 24 of the u500 mcu ??   normally you shoud have a clamped / amplitude limitted 50-60 hz signal because of cr554 (6.2v zenner)

A good trick would be to use a signal generator with 3-4 volts peak to peak signal to do some tests ??

Unless u500 is busted in some ways ??  or the zenner is pulling the signal to the ground ??  or maybe there is some smt component missing or broken, because of the swinging x-former loose screw ?? 

Page 152  schema 9-5  could help ?



On pin 24 of my meter  u500 gives 2.79 vac at 60hz.   And powered off completely, (no ac cord present), i have around 42k ohm of resistance going to the ground
« Last Edit: June 03, 2019, 09:41:02 pm by coromonadalix »
 

Offline MicroEmbedded

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 10
Re: HP 34401a error 624
« Reply #5 on: June 04, 2019, 12:46:57 am »
I'm not getting + and - 18V out of U552 and U551.  I might try replacing c553 and c551
 

Offline TenderTendon

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: us
Re: HP 34401a error 624
« Reply #6 on: June 04, 2019, 03:53:59 pm »
Check for AC voltage coming out of transformer (2 red wires), and each red wire to ground.
If voltage is present on transformer, check if AC voltage is present on pins 3 and 4 of bridge rectifier C551. If not, check for cold solder joint on PCB pug connector or burnt trace between plug connector and rectifier.
 

Offline MicroEmbedded

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 10
Re: HP 34401a error 624
« Reply #7 on: June 04, 2019, 07:33:55 pm »
From schematic 9-15:
Red P551-8 is .9VAC
Red P551-6 is 8.2VAC
 

Offline MicroEmbedded

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 10
Re: HP 34401a error 624
« Reply #8 on: June 04, 2019, 07:36:18 pm »
Voltages from red wires don't seem right I might need to replace it.
 

Offline coromonadalix

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2459
  • Country: ca
Re: HP 34401a error 624
« Reply #9 on: June 04, 2019, 08:32:01 pm »
For the red wire you do take pin 7 as a ground for the dc voltage   and measure pin 6 and 8 for the ac voltage ...   disconnect the xformer secondary connector and measure all of them in ohms , you may have a defective transformer

They sell around 80$ usd, you have originals or clones on Ebay, i bought one,  months ago directly at Keysight

You need to do a good check up of all the main dc voltages lines
 

Offline TenderTendon

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: us
Re: HP 34401a error 624
« Reply #10 on: June 05, 2019, 03:38:41 am »
What is the AC voltage between the 2 red wires ( pins 6 & 8 )?
 

Offline MicroEmbedded

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 10
Re: HP 34401a error 624
« Reply #11 on: June 05, 2019, 02:31:13 pm »
What is the AC voltage between the 2 red wires ( pins 6 & 8 )?

From GND to pin 8 is .9VAC
From GND to pin 6 is 8.2VAC
I will measure the Voltage across the 2
« Last Edit: June 05, 2019, 02:36:56 pm by MicroEmbedded »
 

Offline MicroEmbedded

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 10
Re: HP 34401a error 624
« Reply #12 on: June 05, 2019, 03:07:31 pm »
Voltage between pin 6 and 8 is 20.3 VAC
 

Offline coromonadalix

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2459
  • Country: ca
Re: HP 34401a error 624
« Reply #13 on: June 05, 2019, 08:18:07 pm »
34401a transformer voltages and impedances

Secondaries Voltages
reds  only = 45vac
red and white = 22vac   white being a center tap for te reds
oranges = 9vac
greens = 4.8vac
green and blue = 2.4vac   blue being a center tap for the greens

Secondaries Ohms Values
green to green = 3.83 ohms
oranges = 2.28 ohms
red to red = 25.2 ohms

Primary Ohms values
100 vac = 45.7 ohms
120 vac = 54.6 ohms
220 vac = 119.5 ohms
240 vac = 132.3 ohms


I strongly suggest hot air station to removes any smt tantalums, the pcb traces may lift, remove the big electrolytics first, change the smt and put in last the big caps
I've done them in my 2 meters, just as a precaution, and put Nichicon caps.
« Last Edit: June 05, 2019, 08:27:51 pm by coromonadalix »
 
The following users thanked this post: 3db, TenderTendon

Offline MicroEmbedded

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 10
Re: HP 34401a error 624
« Reply #14 on: June 06, 2019, 12:28:25 am »
Thanks coromonadalix! measured values confirms it's the transformer since there's an open between reds.  Makes sense since once I removed some of the tape you can see a disconnected winding cable.  I'll call keysight once funds are available and order a new one.

Secondaries Voltages
reds  only = 20VAC
red and white = 22vac  to Pin 8 2mVAC to Pin 6 20.1VAC
oranges = 8.9VAC
greens = 5.1VAC
green and blue = 2.553 and 2.551

Secondaries Ohms Values
green to green = 4.2 ohms
oranges = 2.3 ohms
red to red = OPEN

Primary Ohms values
100 vac = 44.3 ohms
120 vac = 52.6 ohms
220 vac = 118.8 ohms
240 vac = 131.6 ohms
 

Offline coromonadalix

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2459
  • Country: ca
Re: HP 34401a error 624
« Reply #15 on: June 06, 2019, 01:45:00 am »
You have them too on ebay, but they are clones of the originals Keysight and they sell for the same price, and with keysight you have free shipping over 100$  if i recall

Are you able to resolder a wire on the broken x-former wire ???
« Last Edit: June 06, 2019, 01:46:45 am by coromonadalix »
 

Offline MicroEmbedded

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 10
Re: HP 34401a error 624
« Reply #16 on: June 06, 2019, 08:26:26 pm »
Thanks guys, I went ahead and resolder the wire coming out of the transformer to the other end that got detached. no more errors
 

Offline TenderTendon

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: us
Re: HP 34401a error 624
« Reply #17 on: June 11, 2019, 04:03:11 pm »
That's great news. Enjoy the meter!
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf