Author Topic: Acer 4K monitor troubleshooting  (Read 1199 times)

Offline fiskmaasTopic starter

Acer 4K monitor troubleshooting
« on: May 19, 2023, 10:11:29 am »
Hey EEVblog forum,

So I'm trying to diagnose what could be wrong with my monitor. It's a Acer xv273k, the problem is that it blinks black every ~500ms. Here's a video of the problem: https://imgur.com/a/UcL3sEb

So it's definitely a monitor problem, it persists on OSD and on different inputs. I'm wondering if anyone knows what it could be, or how to troubleshoot. I'm not very experienced with troubleshooting electronics like this, but I have all the gear required (cheap oscilloscope, multimeter etc.) and experience soldering.

Any and all help welcome as I was hoping to get some more time out of this thing, warranty expired just 6 months ago :(

Thanks!

Offline wraper

• Supporter
Re: Acer 4K monitor troubleshooting
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2023, 10:27:19 am »
Seems to be a backlight issue as image seems to persist when backlight disappears. Probably protection kicking in and backlight restarting. Could be a problem with backlight driver or an issue with LED strips which causes protection to kick in. Try adjusting brightness setting and see if it changes anything.

The following users thanked this post: fiskmaas

Offline n4u

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2023, 10:28:25 am »
Yea.. You may additionally  check with flashlight - it should be visible image when you highlight the screen. I will start with temperature of inverter and capacitors.

« Reply #3 on: May 19, 2023, 10:47:00 am »
Thanks both for your quick answers.

Seems to be a backlight issue as image seems to persist when backlight disappears. Probably protection kicking in and backlight restarting. Could be a problem with backlight driver or an issue with LED strips which causes protection to kick in. Try adjusting brightness setting and see if it changes anything.