Author Topic: hp DV6-3132 laptop no power indication at all appears dead  (Read 902 times)

Offline wedgetail

• Contributor
hp DV6-3132 laptop no power indication at all appears dead
« on: September 06, 2017, 12:00:30 am »
I have been searching foum to gain information on board level laptop repair got a solid start but now stuck.

My neighbour lamented that his hp DV6-3132 laptop was dead. It is now an old model but he hardly uses it and looks in very good condition. Following for my own record.

Intel core i7 inside
ATI Mobility Radeon Premium Graphics: SupportsMicrosoft Direct X11
Windows 7

I have some experience in electronics I promised to have a look and see if I could figure out what was wrong.  I hate to see pallet loads of laptops going to the dump.  For some time I have wanted to get some practical experience so I have started investigating this hp.

Internet search have given me:
1.. The model have significant problems with the graphics chips with flip chip design, not sure if it was only NVIDIA or included ATI, this model has the Intel/ATI. Sobering start odds are stacked against me.

2.. I believe I have the correct schematic, designations corresponds with motherboard, now completely removed.  The devices are different manufacturers but not putting me off yet.

Few details from the 1st page on the schematic (I am not experienced reading the schematics so may be missing some valuable information.)

LX6/7 (Liverpool) BLOCK DIAGRAM
Intel Clarksfield /  Arrandale  CPU 45Watt/35Watt / 4 Core  ( rPGA 989 )  PAGE 3-6
ATI Park XT  (64bit) / Madison Pro (128bit) (FCBGA) / 962p 29X29mm / PAGE 14-18

I have not yet removed the processor or graphics chip, so exact models not known yet.

Manual origin in the file name.  I ended up with quite a number of manuals before I finally had enough understanding of what to look for.