Author Topic: HP E3610A Power Supply Help  (Read 3387 times)

Offline glowellTopic starter

HP E3610A Power Supply Help
« on: November 21, 2016, 10:18:30 pm »
Hi -

First post to the forums, and I'm a relative beginner to analog electronics.  I'm trying to repair an HP E3610 from around 1992.  When I received the power supply, the AC fuse was blown, and on opening the cover I found several of the electrolytics were leaking.   I replaced all 5 of the large electrolytics and thoroughly degreased the board.  There were no obvious signs of other damage. The power supply is mostly functioning, but isn't stable.

On power-on, with the voltage and current knobs full counter clockwise, the voltage reads around -10 volts, and slowly over 5-10 minutes will creep up to +1-2 volts, then settle at around  0.25 volts.  The CV and CC indicators are both on, but eventually the CC indicator goes off.  Any change of temperature, like a draft, will cause the voltage to drift upwards.  Both the voltage and current adjust knobs will change the settings, but the displayed voltage is higher than measured with a DMM at the output.  I'm waiting for a couple power resistors to arrive before checking out the current settings.

The display voltage at TP9 & TP10 is 4.98 V.

The reference voltage section reads: TP1 12.14 V, TP2 6.92 V, TP8 -11.94 volts  using +output/TP6 as reference.  CREF/TP7 tracks the CC current pot from -0.21 to -6.64.

With the CC current set to 3.0 amps, 1 V on the DMM reads 1.49 V in the display, 2 V on the DMM reads 5.21 V, 8 V reads 11.51 V.

The voltage at the bridge rectifiers is CR13 8.55V, CR9 37.33V, and CR2 16.86V (US 120V power).

I have the 2000 Schematics, but it has some slightly different components than I see on the board.

Any advice before I start messing around with the innards ?

Thanks,
Gary

Offline singapol

• Frequent Contributor
Re: HP E3610A Power Supply Help
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2016, 06:57:54 am »