Author Topic: HP3458A Schaffner mains line filter failure  (Read 9924 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline texaspyro

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1343
Re: HP3458A Schaffner mains line filter failure
« Reply #25 on: March 08, 2018, 02:22:38 am »
Got my 3458A today and error annunciation which was shown on the picture revealed only one error: unit requires calibration.

Sooo... a 9V battery and a 10K/10% carbon comp resistor and you're good to go.     >:D
 

Offline Samogon

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 456
  • Country: us
Re: HP3458A Schaffner mains line filter failure
« Reply #26 on: March 08, 2018, 02:50:05 am »
Got my 3458A today and error annunciation which was shown on the picture revealed only one error: unit requires calibration.

Sooo... a 9V battery and a 10K/10% carbon comp resistor and you're good to go.     >:D
That's soooo easy :)
 

Online TheSteve

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 3106
  • Country: ca
  • Living the Dream
Re: HP3458A Schaffner mains line filter failure
« Reply #27 on: March 08, 2018, 02:50:29 am »
Got my 3458A today and error annunciation which was shown on the picture revealed only one error: unit requires calibration. So let me join 3458A club :) 
Also got mains inlet/filter from digikey it is 10EEJ1 from TEcorcom. This is first step i will do before any further attempts to switch unit on. Dont want spoil good deal i got.

The only filter I found with that part number was a 10 amp unit. The original filter is a 3 amp unit which will most likely offer a greater level of filtering. If you do have a 10 amp unit I'd recommend replacing it with a suitable 3 amp model. New production 3458A's still use a Schaffner.
VE7FM
 
The following users thanked this post: Samogon

Offline Samogon

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 456
  • Country: us
Re: HP3458A Schaffner mains line filter failure
« Reply #28 on: March 08, 2018, 03:06:03 am »
And looks like i have long project to replace U121,122 and calibrate unit after, since according to 3458A-14B CAL RAM has failed and i no longer have cal constants in place.
 

Offline TiN

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 4137
  • Country: us
  • xDevs.com/live - 24/7 lab feed
    • xDevs.com
Re: HP3458A Schaffner mains line filter failure
« Reply #29 on: March 08, 2018, 04:55:22 am »
I wouldn't hold hopes high, until ADC stability is proven...
YouTube | Metrology IRC Chat room | Live-cam | Share T&M documentation? Upload! No MB limit, firmwares, photos.
 

Offline Samogon

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 456
  • Country: us
Re: HP3458A Schaffner mains line filter failure
« Reply #30 on: March 08, 2018, 04:59:42 am »
That can be tested without calibration, right?
 

Offline TiN

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 4137
  • Country: us
  • xDevs.com/live - 24/7 lab feed
    • xDevs.com
Re: HP3458A Schaffner mains line filter failure
« Reply #31 on: March 08, 2018, 11:57:54 am »
Right, just need stable DCV source, such as LTZ1000 reference module.
YouTube | Metrology IRC Chat room | Live-cam | Share T&M documentation? Upload! No MB limit, firmwares, photos.
 

Offline Samogon

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 456
  • Country: us
Re: HP3458A Schaffner mains line filter failure
« Reply #32 on: March 08, 2018, 04:42:18 pm »
Datron 4708 should be sufficient, but running it for a week too tough for me.
I better open new thread for my project.
 

Offline nikonoid

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 224
  • Country: us
Re: HP3458A Schaffner mains line filter failure
« Reply #33 on: March 08, 2018, 05:01:15 pm »
Samogon, congrats on a new addition.

I had a conversation with Keysight and the current filter they use on new 3458a is Part Number 9135-5773. If you pull that up and magnify the picture, you will see that it is:
Schaffner FN9222-3-06

Good luck!
 
The following users thanked this post: TiN, Samogon, Random Model Maker

Offline Random Model Maker

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 62
  • Country: lu
Re: HP3458A Schaffner mains line filter failure
« Reply #34 on: May 23, 2018, 09:46:37 am »
I had a conversation with Keysight and the current filter they use on new 3458a is Part Number 9135-5773. If you pull that up and magnify the picture, you will see that it is:
Schaffner FN9222-3-06

Thanks, I was just going to ask as I discovered the topic.

If anyone would like to know, the Tek 2235 and 2236 use the same thing in a 1 amp format. The part number on it is FN323-1/01.
I will replace it with a Schaffner FN9222-1-06. (Costs 5€ on Mouser, which is more than I paid for the scope...)

« Last Edit: May 23, 2018, 10:08:33 am by Random Model Maker »
I'd think of something clever to say, but I got nothing, so I just won't.
 

Offline mrjoda

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 70
  • Country: sk
Re: HP3458A Schaffner mains line filter failure
« Reply #35 on: June 04, 2018, 07:49:24 am »
sign me in. Schaffner got me a hard times.

https://www.eevblog.com/forum/reviews/phillipsfluke-pm2811-power-source/

Can you reccomend me a good replacement ?
 

Offline nikonoid

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 224
  • Country: us
Re: HP3458A Schaffner mains line filter failure
« Reply #36 on: March 05, 2019, 02:33:38 pm »
I believe for new 3458a Keysight is now using Schaffner FN9222-3-06.

Good luck.
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf