Author Topic: HP/Agilent 34401A calibration error 706  (Read 679 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline leoakirakblo

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 11
  • Country: jp
HP/Agilent 34401A calibration error 706
« on: January 02, 2018, 03:25:24 pm »
I bough my 34401a used from auction, actually everything working fine.
But when i'm trying to calibrate manually, always show the error 706. (Cal value out of range )
In setup, CAL MENU> 3:CAL COUNT, the calibration count is 40. This means that i cannot calibrate anymore?
Compared with my brand new Siglent SDM3055, the 34401 is +/-50 microvolts of difference.
Any thoughts?
 

Online HighVoltage

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 4302
  • Country: de
Re: HP/Agilent 34401A calibration error 706
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2018, 03:47:12 pm »
Welcome to the forum.

You just have to follow the calibration instructions very carefully.
The count has nothing to do with this error, you can do many more claibrations.

Which value are you trying to calibrate?
What value did you enter in to the DMM?
How stable is your source (calibrator)

There are 3 kinds of people in this world, those who can count and those who can not.
 
The following users thanked this post: leoakirakblo

Online Kleinstein

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6431
  • Country: de
Re: HP/Agilent 34401A calibration error 706
« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2018, 03:53:56 pm »
Depending on the range, a 50 ┬ÁV difference to a 5.5 Digit DMM is not that bad. Not sure which of the 2 is off. A useful calibration would need a reference or meter with significant better accuracy. So maybe if you have a HP3458 or Keithley 2002with reasonable fresh cal at hand one could uses these. With a lower grade Sigilent meter, it is well possible the 34401 is still closer to the truth.
 
The following users thanked this post: leoakirakblo

Offline leoakirakblo

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 11
  • Country: jp
Re: HP/Agilent 34401A calibration error 706
« Reply #3 on: January 02, 2018, 08:05:05 pm »
Welcome to the forum.

You just have to follow the calibration instructions very carefully.
The count has nothing to do with this error, you can do many more claibrations.

Which value are you trying to calibrate?
What value did you enter in to the DMM?
How stable is your source (calibrator)

I did read the manual again and probably i got whats wrong i did. Awhile display shows "full scale" just set the new value   :palm: i was trying to insert offset values.
I get a Yokogawa 2553 from my workplace but was calibrate on past year summer. (they retire it)
I make the procedure only in 1v range, now all ranges match pretty close to my voltage souce.
Yeah, probably is better to find some more trustable multimeter reference to do this. 
 

Online HighVoltage

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 4302
  • Country: de
Re: HP/Agilent 34401A calibration error 706
« Reply #4 on: January 02, 2018, 09:31:13 pm »

I did read the manual again and probably i got whats wrong i did. Awhile display shows "full scale" just set the new value   :palm: i was trying to insert offset values.
Yes, always set the full value that you want to calibrate and not the offset.

Also make sure to do the zero calibration first, with a short block on all 4 input terminals.

There are 3 kinds of people in this world, those who can count and those who can not.
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf