Author Topic: HP/Agilent Infinium 548xx scope - Power Supply Schematic !  (Read 2121 times)

Offline Conventional WisdomTopic starter

HP/Agilent Infinium 548xx scope - Power Supply Schematic !
« on: January 12, 2024, 03:21:14 am »
Hello folks,

You know what I miss?  I miss the way HP and others used to include detailed service information, and even full schematics, in their product manuals.  Ah, the good old days.  Now they act like a simple power supply is a closely guarded secret.

I found this forum last year while searching for repair data for my 54845A scope, after its power supply stopped working.  Mainly what I found out is that there are a lot of people in the same boat, who could repair the darn thing if only they had a schematic.  If you're one of them, I have good news:  I'm an engineer, I'm retired, I'm stubborn and I don't like secrets.  So...

I reverse-engineered the entire power supply, drafted a complete schematic, and I'm placing it in the public domain here.  It's my gift to all you folks who take the time to help each other out.

This isn't some sophisticated, digitally-managed modern marvel; it's a very conventional 25-year-old, 300-watt design with a wide-range PFC front end, an isolated flyback converter for standby and bias supplies, a two-transistor forward converter with post-regulated outputs, and some protection and control circuitry.  All the semiconductors are generally non-special and still available.

First, the obligatory warnings: This information is provided WITHOUT WARRANTY OF ANY KIND and you use it entirely AT YOUR OWN RISK.  There's 380 volts DC in that chassis, even in the standby state, so if you're not completely comfortable with troubleshooting and repairing high-voltage, line-powered assemblies, seek qualified help.  Also, there may be differences between this schematic and your particular unit.  Be sure to read the notes on sheet 1.

Other notes...