Author Topic: Inductor identification without schematic  (Read 936 times)

Offline BenKenobiTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Inductor identification without schematic
« on: February 05, 2019, 10:42:45 pm »
I have a Bowens 500DX flash head sitting on the bench, the control board has released the magic smoke.

The company no longer exists and schematics are impossible to find. I need to replace a pair of inductors, I have next to no information on what size they are - or do I ?? - I can find no inductors of the value on the top of these.

Anyone care to take a gander at the images and offer some clues - I'm a rank amateur in this game so I don't encounter these things that often. It is in a remote switchable circuit providing 5VDC to a control board in the flash unit, least I think it should be 5V based on the presence of PIC's and LM358N, MC7805C elsewhere- why inductors in + and - ??

What insanity would cook inductors such that the copper ends up on the PCB - I see no evidence that there's been any kind of short in the DC side except the inductors - did the switch shorting kill the inductors or the other way around? but it's all cooked so nothing to confirm who failed what and I lack the experience many of you guys have, how do you know whether the numbers on the inductors are nano or micro henry's ? - there are no vendor markings at all. The PWM switch is toast - actually exploded - it is also obsolete.  http://www.theplasticshed.co.uk/images/images500DX/TOP200YAI.pdf

If the images are too large just let me know and I'll shrink them

« Last Edit: February 05, 2019, 11:46:04 pm by BenKenobi »

Offline DaJMasta

• Super Contributor
    • medpants.com
Re: Inductor identification without schematic
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2019, 01:23:32 am »