Author Topic: KRK Rokit 6 - Sound for a bit then cuts out  (Read 1196 times)

Offline jeremyrichardsonTopic starter

KRK Rokit 6 - Sound for a bit then cuts out
« on: December 03, 2021, 02:56:01 am »
Hi there,

I'm new to tinkering with electronics so I'm looking for some help figuring out even where to look and how to test. Thanks to anyone willing to help.

KRK 6 speaker will usually work when first turned on but then will turn off after a random amount of time. Sometimes it's 10 seconds but yesterday it ran all day without cutting out. It usually pops slightly when it turns off, similar to when it's powered off with the power switch.

I can confirm the logo remains lighted on the front at all times even when there is no sound.

Black Goo
I've watched some videos and read up on the black goo issue that these KRKs seem to suffer from. I opened up the speaker and scraped off some of the black goo. Without removing parts it's really hard to get at most of it, but got what I could.

Suggestions as to what to test and how?
Without really knowing electronics, it seems to me that something is overloading and sending the speaker into a safe mode or something. Nothing is really getting physically hot since they really aren't on for long before they shut off, but maybe a component is failing?

Any help pointing me in the right direction would be most appreciated.

Offline Audiorepair

• Frequent Contributor
Re: KRK Rokit 6 - Sound for a bit then cuts out
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2021, 08:04:58 am »
Its the black goo.
You haven't removed enough of it yet, it puts the unit into Mute.

It also corrodes some component leads and resistor bodies, so you may have to replace one or two if it's got really bad.

This stuff is good at getting it off the PCB once it has gone brittle, corrosive and conductive, but not so good at the squidgy version that hasn't yet.
https://cpc.farnell.com/servisol/100019000/servisol-de-flux-160/dp/SA00962