Author Topic: Ksger T12 Sudden Death  (Read 581 times)

Offline BrokenSolderTopic starter

Ksger T12 Sudden Death
« on: April 23, 2024, 01:37:35 pm »
Hello folks, I've had a ksger T12 for a few years not sure if it's original or not as it doesn't look the same as ones I've seen online, it was from banggood a while ago.

I'm just a hobbyist so not an expert, I use the station occasionally and have loved it, it's always worked and never had any problems before, today it's just gone dead.

The power supply appears to be working, led ons and the second board pictured is getting 24v but nothing comes on, display doesn't work and no beeps or sounds, no heat.

I swapped the tip for another one that I've used fine before, it worked I adjusted the temperature and after a few seconds the unit just made a beep and turned off and hasn't turned back on again. No smoke, under a microscope everything seems to look OK, psu seems OK is outputting 24v to the controller board, controller board just has no signs of life. Not sure where to check hope someone could possibly help me, I dont know much about these things from a visual it looks all good to me.

Offline MathWizard

• Super Contributor
Re: Ksger T12 Sudden Death
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2024, 05:38:24 pm »
It looks like there's solder balls on those connectors, it could use a good cleaning. IDK what version the T12 is but here's a link to a page with schematics and discussion.
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/reviews/t12-stm32-v2-1s-soldering-station-controller-schematic-etc/

What tools do you have? A second soldering iron?

There's a few chip there you can check if they have Vcc, usually the safest way to do that is just probe the near by supply capacitor, because it's pretty easy to short pins by mistake with DMM probes.

What ever it is, it's not a big circuit, so not much should go wrong, and all the parts should be easy to get.