Author Topic: Little to no sound from Pioneer 2 channel integrated amp  (Read 1464 times)

Offline Tronik24Topic starter

Little to no sound from Pioneer 2 channel integrated amp
« on: April 06, 2018, 11:14:18 am »
Hello everyone, my first post and I am somewhat new to troubleshooting, but have a small background with DC and AC theory.

My question is I have a Pioneer A-676 2 channel Reference Amp that a person sent to me stating there is little to no sound.

The amp:

> turns on and I see the red lights on both channels
> I hear the relay kick in
> When I turn the speaker selector from Off to A to B to A/B I hear a click when each is selected
> I do not notice any bulging caps or smell smoke nor do I see any burnt areas from higher heat component areas

I sold this amp in excellent working order and it got damaged in transit where the MC selection knob (far right) was pushed into the amp. The buyer turned it on and reported this problem.

I got it back and lucked out that there was no other physical damage to the amp itself.

I am teaching myself electronics and learned so far that a person needs to 'isolate' the product (no Earth Main) just in case one hooks up their probe from a scope the wrong way. The only thing is the video does not say you plug the 'amp' into the isolation transformer or you plug the scope into the isolation transformer when testing.

There is a video I watched on testing the 'rail'?! Where there are two 5W (white) resistors I believe and the SRC transistors (I think they call them that).

I will plug in a set of headphones to report if there is volume or not, as I wanted to ask if there is something I need to make sure of before I begin to search for this problem (afraid to hook speakers up or basically take that first step).

This is a journey I would like to learn from and gain skills and confidence with each repair/fail!

I thank everyone in advance for advice/help with what to look for if this 'low to no sound' issue is the case.