Author Topic: Logitech Z906 stuck at input 5/aux  (Read 3410 times)

Offline Qlii256Topic starter

Logitech Z906 stuck at input 5/aux
« on: January 25, 2019, 04:13:22 pm »
Since a couple of weeks I've been having problems with my Logitech Z906 surround speaker set-up. It works fine when I leave it without power for a while, but after some use it stops playing any sound and the console shows input 5 and aux are selected. I cannot change input, volume or anything and I hear a "pop" sound and the unit resets. I've done some digging online and this problem can be related to a lot of things, such as blown capacitors.

I've opened up the unit (woofer case), but there doesn't seem to be any sign of damage or bulged capacitors. I was hoping anyone on this forum could help me out. Is there a way I could test the unit or any of the capacitors? I'm not that experienced with electronics. If pictures are requested, I'll happily upload them.

Re: Logitech Z906 stuck at input 5/aux
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2019, 08:39:28 pm »
No one seems to be able to help me unfortunately. I'm out of ideas.

Offline TrickyNekro

• Frequent Contributor
  • Drinking Frappé on the way to Isomnia!
    • Youtube channel, electronics and more ;-)
« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2019, 02:56:09 am »
Just because the capacitors are not bulged doesn´t mean that they are good. You probably need an ESR meter to start testing them, or if it´s easier and cheaper, then just go ahead and change them...
If you are an engineer and you are not tired...
You are doing it wrong!

« Reply #3 on: February 11, 2019, 06:07:45 am »
Thanks you for the reply. To test them, do I need to solder them loose or can I test them while still on the PCB? If I were to replace them, where do I start?

The following users thanked this post: Luby17

Offline neuweiler

« Reply #4 on: March 26, 2023, 09:30:43 am »