Author Topic: Molecular Devices SpectraMax ABS Plus - Optical Alignment Procedure (SOLVED)  (Read 355 times)

Offline fmashockieTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Hey y'all.  I know this is a long-shot.  But I'm pretty desperate at this point so I figured I'd tap the EEVBlog to see if anyone can help.

I am an in-house engineer maintaining the lab equipment for biotech company.  In >90% of the ~400 pieces I am responsible for, the manufacturers will not provide service manuals, schematics, etc.  Very limited resources for the customer to repair the instrument themselves.  This is a topic in itself.  But it is the most challenging part of my job.

I am trying to repair a Molecular Devices SpectraMax ABS Plus. It is a spectrophotometer (called a microplate reader) for measuring absorbance of 96-well/384-well plates for biological/chemical samples.  The unit has developed a 401 error - which according to the manual states 'the filter wheel is unable to find its photo interrupt'.  Usually, when the manufacturer uses the term 'photo interrupt' they are referring to an optical homing sensor.  However, the filter wheel in this unit has no optic homing sensor.  The predecessors to this unit (such as SpectraMax M2) did have homing sensors for their filter wheels.  This is just an example of how bad this company's manuals are - they just kept the old error code descriptions.  In fact, the only note they provide in the maintenance section of this manual (besides the error codes) is how to replace the fuses!!!!  |O