Author Topic: Need help fixing Aoyue 857A++  (Read 3174 times)

Offline AtlanticTopic starter

Need help fixing Aoyue 857A++
« on: January 01, 2016, 02:08:07 pm »
Ive just got my aoyue 857A++ today and I plugged it in turned it on (220-240v model running on 240 volts) and the display displays all eights and blows out full temp and full speed I turn it off after 10 seconds and some smoke comes out of the nozzle. I've taken it apart and it seems like nothing is wrong no components are broken or incorrect but it just doesn't seem to work. I've had about 3 years of experience with electronics i'm only 15 years old but I've designed and made my own pcb's so I have some knowledge but I think I might need some help on this one.

Thanks, Atlantic.

Online wraper

• Supporter
Re: Need help fixing Aoyue 857A++
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2016, 04:42:31 pm »
First of all, you need to disconnect the heater. Then start to troubleshoot the electronics. Check MCU power voltage for starters. Probably MCU is dead and this would be very bad as you most likely won't find the firmware needed to program a replacement MCU.

« Reply #2 on: January 01, 2016, 05:47:31 pm »
Thanks for the reply that is just the hint I needed. BUT I cant go poking around safely because it does run with 240v on the board.

Anyway thanks,
Atlantic.

Online wraper

• Supporter
« Reply #3 on: January 01, 2016, 07:06:28 pm »
BUT I cant go poking around safely because it does run with 240v on the board.