Author Topic: Need Help Repair Tektronix TDS520B  (Read 10033 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 19673
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: Need Help Repair Tektronix TDS520B
« Reply #25 on: November 21, 2016, 02:53:15 pm »
It seems the test only is failed if the dot or the 7 segment display is blinking.
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 

Offline chihaxinh

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 125
  • Country: vn
Re: Need Help Repair Tektronix TDS520B
« Reply #26 on: November 22, 2016, 01:46:55 am »
Hi All

Sory my mistake . LED DS1 display .E not .e  ( it's uppercase letter ) , so i thing have problem like broken trace or something like that.

It's TDS520B , not have much electrolytics capacitor. All cap i replace by new cap, esr have around 2.2R .

It's have 11 cap 33uF/10V and 10uF /35V .

So next time i desolder NVRAM and firmware IC to backup ! If anyone have Firmware or NVRAM data can share to me ?

Many tks you!
Best Regards
Nam Nguyen Hai
 

Offline singapol

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 420
  • Country: sg
Re: Need Help Repair Tektronix TDS520B
« Reply #27 on: November 22, 2016, 06:53:15 am »
See if you can do diagnostic tests here:

http://old.timmestein.nl/index.php?page=tek-tds520-repair

You can copy nvram data using programmer and download to new nvram with fresh lithium battery.
Or if not put in new nvram and calibrate manually:

2430 2430A, 2432, 2440: calibration and faults due to NVRAM ...
https://forum.tek.com/viewtopic.php?t=137131

or extreme recovery of old nvram by cutting and removing epoxy to get at battery terminal : >:D

https://hohlerde.org/rauch/elektronik/geraete/tek2440/index.en.html
 

Offline chihaxinh

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 125
  • Country: vn
Re: Need Help Repair Tektronix TDS520B
« Reply #28 on: November 22, 2016, 07:09:03 am »
See if you can do diagnostic tests here:

http://old.timmestein.nl/index.php?page=tek-tds520-repair

You can copy nvram data using programmer and download to new nvram with fresh lithium battery.
Or if not put in new nvram and calibrate manually:

2430 2430A, 2432, 2440: calibration and faults due to NVRAM ...
https://forum.tek.com/viewtopic.php?t=137131

or extreme recovery of old nvram by cutting and removing epoxy to get at battery terminal : >:D

https://hohlerde.org/rauch/elektronik/geraete/tek2440/index.en.html

Hi Singapol

NVRAM keep calibration value . in Tektronix 24xx calibration process very easy with signal gen and power source . But with TDS 5xx it's not easy , we need high speed signal gen and some special equipment.

Repair it's not easy , in next time i decided to replace CRT by LCD display, but we need equipment finish booting.  :phew:
 

Offline David Hess

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 11207
  • Country: us
  • DavidH
Re: Need Help Repair Tektronix TDS520B
« Reply #29 on: November 22, 2016, 07:27:25 am »
NVRAM keep calibration value . in Tektronix 24xx calibration process very easy with signal gen and power source . But with TDS 5xx it's not easy , we need high speed signal gen and some special equipment.

On the 24xx DSOs, the external calibration process is easy.  On the 24xx analog oscilloscopes, it is more difficult but still possible with just the proper signal sources.  I think all of the TDS oscilloscopes also require special software which was not generally available.
 

Offline chihaxinh

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 125
  • Country: vn
Re: Need Help Repair Tektronix TDS520B
« Reply #30 on: November 22, 2016, 07:43:40 am »

On the 24xx DSOs, the external calibration process is easy.  On the 24xx analog oscilloscopes, it is more difficult but still possible with just the proper signal sources.  I think all of the TDS oscilloscopes also require special software which was not generally available.

Yes. TDS5xx have software but running on GPIB card very old version ( ISA ) , and windows 3.1 .
My friend have Xeltek 501S programer , first step need backup NVRAM and Firmware , on internet some body post repair guide have only TDS520 or TDS520A not "B" version.

Hope NVRam not dead ...  :-BROKE
 

Offline chihaxinh

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 125
  • Country: vn
Re: Need Help Repair Tektronix TDS520B
« Reply #31 on: November 22, 2016, 03:52:59 pm »
New update
After replace all electrolytic caps in Acq board ! Ds1 display on top segment only , likely boot hang !
And i connect osc to lcd display, lcd display many horizone line - Like bad video ram !

Next time i disasembly front panel and replace all electrolytic caps
 

Offline PrecisionAnalytic

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 75
  • Country: us
Re: Need Help Repair Tektronix TDS520B
« Reply #32 on: January 08, 2018, 07:09:22 pm »
I replaced all electrolitics on the digital and acquisition boards by tantalum capacitors and it's all been good for more than 3 years.

Just make sure you wash the hell out of the boards after removing the old leaky capacitors - brush and lots of IPA are your friends here.

Cheers

What brand, type and specification of tantalum capacitors did you use?

All the best
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf