Author Topic: Need help with a partially distorted Tektronix 2246 scope CRT  (Read 3116 times)

Offline SkylineviewTopic starter

• Contributor
  • Saving vintage electronics, one at a time!
Need help with a partially distorted Tektronix 2246 scope CRT
« on: February 03, 2019, 01:35:10 pm »
ey everyone,

I'm new to the forum but have been keeping up with Dave on YouTube for quite some time.   I'm relatively new to the electronics hobby and I recently purchased my first analog scope. It's a Tek 2246 100 MHz 4 channel I found on e-Bay and the listing said it "Wasn't working".  Everything is functioning on it as you'd expect it to, except for one slight issue.  The lower left 1/4 of the screen seems to be distorted.   All of the menus, lower part of the trace and lower portion of the cursors appear to be affected. It doesn't appear (to me) to be the CRT as it is clear and bright throughout its entirety.  As I've said I'm relatively new to the hobby, but have repaired a few things in the past, so i'm not afraid to break it open and find the fault, I just don't know where to even begin troubleshooting such an obscure issue.

Traces are clean, except the lower-left portion mentioned above, display does not have any jitter, all pots/selectors and buttons work properly. I have pictures of the issue, so you can see for yourself.

Any help on where to begin to fix this issue is greatly appreciated.

Also, I've tried posting about this several times, but couldn't seem to get it to post, sorry if it posts several times.  :scared:

Clayton
Sealy, TX USA
« Last Edit: February 03, 2019, 02:41:57 pm by Skylineview »

Online Ian.M

• Super Contributor
Re: Need help with a partially distorted scope CRT
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2019, 02:04:39 pm »