Author Topic: Need help with repair of Agilent E3647A power supply  (Read 1637 times)

Offline Arek_RTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
  • Polish guy living in the UK
Need help with repair of Agilent E3647A power supply
« on: April 14, 2018, 04:40:01 pm »
Hi, got this PSU from ebay, this is my first attempt of repairing industrial grade equipent.
In short it displays same low value on the display all the time and changing output voltage doesn't make any difference, but you can get max 13V on output 1 with 60V range and full 62V on CH2.
Cleary ADC portion on both channels doesnt work and also DAC portion on CH1.
First I want to repair ADC portion of the circuit, so I focused on part of the schematic responsible for it on smaller "daughter board" with main processors.
Started by measuring around multiplexer U27 MC74HC4051D(handles V/A measurements voltages for both channels), connected negative lead of my multimeter to positive terminal of CH1(connected to "A1" ground on schematic), set both channels to supply actual 5V, and started measuring, but then I have problem with understanding what's happening with voltages between U28 and U24 opamps, here's part of the schematic and what I measure:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1IYsnK9iRd133jwK9XqMq3pcEMRtA-Vkm/view
And my question is: How is it possible that I measure some voltage directly on pin #6 of U28 but nothing directly on pin #2 of U24???
« Last Edit: April 14, 2018, 05:19:42 pm by Arek_R »

Offline orbanp

• Regular Contributor
Re: Need help with repair of Agilent E3647A power supply
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2018, 06:09:48 pm »
Hi Arek,

Your measurements and the voltages are fine!

The gain of the second op-amp is roughly (pretty close to this) R342 / R343 = 8.25k / 10k  = 0.825
If you multiply 0.127V * 0.825 = 0.1048V which is close what you measure there!
That is about 5.5% error, which sounds reasonable at such low voltages.

Peter
« Last Edit: April 14, 2018, 06:16:31 pm by orbanp »