Author Topic: (Solved) Old CRT circuit repair  (Read 19845 times)

Offline SpidersWebTopic starter

• Supporter
(Solved) Old CRT circuit repair
« on: June 26, 2014, 05:53:26 am »
New to the forum, and while I have electronics knowledge, I'm still a beginner in the big scheme of things - so I thought I'd post my thread here, rather than Technical, but if I got it wrong just let me know.

As a hobby I maintain/collect computers from the 1980's. Generally if a PSU or CRT fails - I replace it - however in the future I'm going to need to be able to repair these properly, and doing that will take some learning piece by piece. I have 4 CRTs to begin with and I haven't bought myself an oscilloscope yet - but it's on my 'to get' list.

So the first project I want to take up is a monochrome display from 1987 - and I was hoping you guys could either discuss the circuit that's at fault so I can understand how it operates better, and/or point me towards which components are most likely to be failing to cause the issue.

So here is what I get:

What I think is happening is the horizontal deflection yoke isn't getting enough voltage to pull the beam to the left, so it starts drawing near the center, gets a little bit right, then oscillates backwards. So any lines which contain more than 5 characters, start overwriting each other. "C:>_" should be hard left, not centered, and the content above that is text laid on top of text - until you just get a mess.

Vertical is perfect.

This is the circuit that is responsible for feeding the horizontal deflection yoke:

The arrow is pointing to the trigger input - Hsync - which pulses at 18.4KHz. The line below the arrow is +12V.
The horizontal deflection yoke can be seen up the top - labelled H-DY.