Author Topic: Osborne 1 Repair  (Read 4587 times)

Offline willsewardTopic starter

• Contributor
Osborne 1 Repair
« on: May 04, 2018, 11:47:52 pm »
Hello,

I bought an non-working Osborne off EBay in hopes of repairing it in my spare time, but I seem to be way in over my head in terms of debugging prowess. I'm curious if I could get a little bit of help.

The symptoms are as follows:
Won't boot
Beeps continuously
CRT shows boxes and random characters

I've been poking around with a scope and found a few oddities. I'm no electrical engineer, so I could be barking up the wrong tree...

So far I've replaced the Z80A, the '393s in A13 and B14, and the '175 in D14 to no avail. I chose to replace those on a hunch after looking around with my scope. I've included a few photos of the waveforms I think seem problematic.

Any way, any suggestions or tips would be appreciated!

Thanks!

P.S. I originally posted this on VCF, but I didn't get much help...

Image names and descriptions

IMG_0072.jpg
74LS393 in B14 : pin 12 (CLK)

IMG_0073.jpg
74LS393 in B14 : pin 11 (2QA)
Notice the "blip" that only lasts a few ns.

IMG_0074.jpg
MCM4116 : pin 2

IMG_0075.jpg
Z80 : pin 24 (WAIT)

IMG_0076.jpg
74LS175 in D14 : pin 7 (Q1)

IMG_0079.jpg
CRT

• Contributor
Re: Osborne 1 Repair
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2018, 01:05:37 am »
Thanks, wilfred!

So about the RAM. Yes. There is one 4116 that is dedicated to the graphics. I have a few 4116s on-hand, but I haven't been able to locate any failed DIMs. I am curious to know the failure mode of the 4116 so that I could sniff out any lurking failures. I might suck it out and replace it to see what happens. It couldn't hurt; the 4116s are notoriously unreliable. And, yes. The dim portion of the CRT is an artifact of the photo.