Author Topic: Panasonic VP-7723A  (Read 3790 times)

Offline LoTechTopic starter

• Contributor
Panasonic VP-7723A
« on: February 10, 2017, 02:32:19 am »
Hello friends,

I am new to EEV but I have to confess that I am a long time lurker. I am a huge fun of Dave and of this forum.
Electronics is an old hobby of mine and from once in a while I acquire a test bench instrument hoping that one day I will have more time to use them.

I now have an audio generator, analyzer, a Panasonic VP-7723, that appears to have a problem. The oscillator works fine, I can adjust frequency and amplitude and the display shows the levels for each, just fine. However, the problem is that the display turns off almost immediately after I stop turning the attenuation (knob). When operating the attenuation, the display comes back on, then it goes away once I stop.

I looked at the user manual, and if this is the intended behavior of the unit or there is a way to make it stay either on or off, but I sure missed reading that part..
I am inclined to believe that there is a faulty component in the unit that causes this to happen and wanted to know if anyone here is familiar with this audio analyzer or has any other suggestions.
Your help would be greatly appreciated!

Cheers.
Pete
« Last Edit: February 10, 2017, 03:52:43 pm by LoTech »

Offline Armadillo

• Super Contributor
Re: Panasonic VP-7723A
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2017, 03:30:25 am »
Panasonic VP-7723A is a audio analyser.
If after 2 sec from your adjustment, the display blank, then suspect the control assembly.
Because it suppose to alternate to the current measurement values.

The following users thanked this post: LoTech

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2017, 03:51:59 pm »
my bad..had the head in the cloud when I typed that...yes, an audio analyzer indeed.

Thank you for the pointer. I will look at the control assembly section.
Has anyone else experienced a similar problem with this unit? or one of its close siblings?