Author Topic: Philips PM3230 problems  (Read 822 times)

Offline b0b4uTopic starter

• -
Philips PM3230 problems
« on: August 03, 2023, 08:26:32 am »
Hello, I am 14 and I bought a scope(this is my first scope). It is the Philips  PM3230. I got it for a really good price. However, it has a few problems.

First, I think it need trigger adjust. I think so because the signal moves left and right. I can get it to stay still with the time per division fine adjustment, bit it starts moving again after some time. If I want the signal to stay in place for longer time, I have to use the option for showing the falling edge of the signal. Also, I think this is because I am new to scopes, but when I select a timebase, I have to adjust the fine adjustment so the signal would stay in place. But as soon as I increase/decrease the time base, the signal becomes out of sync and it sarts "vibrating".

Second, I noticed that the signal(wave) is more clear on the sides of the CRT screen. It is blurred on the middle of the screen.

Third, the two channels start moving up and down sometimes. This usually happens when the scope starts up.

Can someone help me to fix these problems?

Offline Zenith

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Philips PM3230 problems
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2023, 09:28:55 pm »
I don't think I'm going to be much help here but I'll try.

I believe this is a valve (electron tube) scope and not ideal for a beginner as a first scope. Much better would be something like a Hameg 203, and ideally you would see all functions working before you buy it.

The first thing you need is the manual, definitely the operating manual but also the service manual. I had a quick look on the web and the only version I could find is in Dutch.