Author Topic: Pioneer A109 Stereo Amp - blown R channel  (Read 5257 times)

Offline DriverTopic starter

• Supporter
    • BradsXmasLights
Pioneer A109 Stereo Amp - blown R channel
« on: September 07, 2014, 12:13:41 pm »
Hi Guys.

I recently acquired a Pioneer A109 stereo amplifier that failed to power on.

I'm no electronics expert, but some basic visual inspection revealed a blown 800mA fuse on the pre-transformer/mains PCB, and some very toasted looking PCB board around the Right channel power mosfets on the main board. These mosfets were shorted too, so I sucked them out and replaced the fuse.

Then bingo, the unit powered up and I got audio from the left channel only! So I ordered some replacement mosfets and fitted them, and everything worked fine for the 15-20mins I had it running on the workbench. During this time, I noticed the Left channel heatsinks seemed hotter than the newly replaced Right channel, so I decided I'd spend another $3 on more new Mosfets for the Left channel too.

So after swapping them out, I powered the unit up and the fuse blows again. Seems the right channel Mosfets were shorted again. Once removed & fuse replaced, it powers up again, left channel only again.

Any ideas as to what's going on here before I scrap the entire unit? :)

« Last Edit: September 07, 2014, 12:16:11 pm by Driver »

Offline David_AVD

• Super Contributor
Re: Pioneer A109 Stereo Amp - blown R channel
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2014, 12:37:31 pm »
You may have a bad driver transistor or bias control which is resulting is excessive bias current and thermal runaway.  Sometimes the bias trim pot can go open circuit either by itself or as a result of an output stage failure.

Offline 4thDoctorWhoFan

• Regular Contributor
Re: Pioneer A109 Stereo Amp - blown R channel
« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2014, 01:34:42 pm »