Author Topic: Please help me with HP 5245L counter repair  (Read 430 times)

Offline Jurek_pTopic starter

Please help me with HP 5245L counter repair
« on: July 07, 2023, 09:42:10 am »
Hello

I am an electronics enthusiast and hobbyist, currently grappling with a technical challenge that is stretching the limits of my abilities.

Not long ago, I acquired an HP 5245L generator on eBay, driven by my fascination with vintage electronics and a fervor for restoration projects. I've since devoted countless hours to restoring this device. I have successfully replaced all the neon bulbs, whose leads were broken, and swapped out the Nixie tubes with new ones.

Despite these victories, I've encountered a persistent issue with one of the cards. This card, located in the 14th slot, isn't displaying all digits correctly—it specifically fails to display the numbers 2 and 8. Notably, when the tube should display the number 2, the voltages on all 10 pins of the photocell exceed 35V, and the whole tube lights up. Please note, this issue occurs ONLY when displaying the numbers 2 and 8—the tube displays all other numbers correctly. On the bright side, the counter itself is still functioning and accurately operates in self-test mode.

At this point, I suspect that the photocell might be damaged. I would like to ask your opinion on this, and whether you think it's possible to repair it?
Or could you perhaps guide me on where to find a suitable replacement?

Jurek
« Last Edit: July 07, 2023, 09:46:18 am by Jurek_p »

Online Wallace Gasiewicz

• Super Contributor
Re: Please help me with HP 5245L counter repair
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2023, 12:37:56 pm »