Author Topic: Power Designs TP340A Recapping & Repair  (Read 9541 times)

Offline easTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
    • Tech Obsessed
Power Designs TP340A Recapping & Repair
« on: May 11, 2015, 12:57:01 am »
I tried posting this in the main Power Designs Power Supply thread and didn't get a response, so I thought I'd have better luck here.

I'm a relative novice. I've purchased some used test equipment to set up a learning lab, with the assumption that any broken equipment I end up with will be a learning opportunity. The circa 1996 Power Designs TP340A I got seems to fit in the learning opportunity category.

When I received it, before powering it up, I opened it up and checked it for obvious component failures. I found one, a sprague capacitor with a deteriorated rubber seal that pushed out its epoxy(?) seal.

I know from the users manual and googling that they are 100uF 25v polarized DC caps. I find plenty meeting that general description on digkey, etc, but don't really know what else to look for besides operating temp range and rated life, and I haven't been able to figure out those specs for the original parts. Is there anything else I should consider in picking replacements?

I'm also planning on replacing the large electrolytic, but the choices seem a little more obvious there.

I also plan to recap my circa 1988 5020 Precision Power Supply. It has a number of caps that the datasheet describes as "tantalytic." Are these worth proactive replacement as well?

Thanks.
« Last Edit: July 01, 2015, 07:27:11 am by eas »

Offline nanofrog

• Super Contributor
Re: Power Designs Power Supply Recapping Advice
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2015, 02:24:43 pm »
I tried posting this in the main Power Designs Power Supply thread and didn't get a response, so I thought I'd have better luck here.
Just out of curiosity, is this a 2005 or a TP340A?

FWIW, I doubt it's all that critical (doesn't appear to be part of the ovenized circuit in a 2005 to me at any rate).